Story Treasury

Late for school!!


Heidi opened the door to the classroom and came in, panting. Miss Graham had the first class. Oh no!! Heidi  knew that she had a reputation of being the strictest teacher in the whole school.Miss graham was frowning. Oh no….this cant be good Heidi thought frantically

“Sorry I’m late Miss Graham” Heidi said sweetly

“Why are you late? Miss graham said sternly

“We went to Disneyland Paris last weekend.I then did my homework.”

“But that is no reason to be late to school.”

“Wait!!! I did my homework but a stray dog snatched it form me. I had to run almost a mile to get it back.”

“Well!! That is NO reason to be late” Miss Graham was turning red now….NOT a good sign

“I got lost so I had to ask directions. Nobody would and it took me a lot of time.”

“But that is no reason to be late” Miss Graham said exasperatedly and annoyed at Heidi’s innocent expression.

“The directions turned out to be fake and led me to a haunted house where a vampire was about to suck my blood.”

“But Heidi, why are you late??” Now exasperated and angry.

“Miss Graham, I am telling you…An ambulance came to rescue me and took me to the hospital. There they made me stay for an hour”

“Miss graham was actually shouting now.. “BUT WHY ARE YOU LATE HEIDI, THIS HAS GOT NOTHING TO DO WITH WHY YOU ARE LATE TO SCHOOL”

 But Heidi was unperturbed. “Then I had to get home quickly but on my way I tripped up poor Mrs.Arnold in my hurry. She took me to her house where we had some biscuits and coffee”

“But why are you late” Miss Graham said angrily trying to control her temper but at the same time amused.

“Well, I finally reached home but on my way I found some money. I decided to have a chocolate or two.”

“But, Heidi, tell me why are you late???”

“Oh, Miss Graham…You really should have asked me before. I overslept!!!”

Miss Graham was breathless… “Is, Is that all??”

“Yep, it sure is” Heidi said smilingly.

Miss Graham’s voice suddenly turned stern. “Very well, Detention this Friday Heidi”

Heidi sighed.She knew this had to come sooner or later.But at least she had wasted half the boring history period she thought looking into her classmates grinning faces. 

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! ♥

