Bits 'n' Odds

2013 End of Year Book Survey


2013 end of year book survey

Hi everyone! This is a little survey about which books I read in 2013…..I found it on littleonionwrites blog and decided to share it. Oookay…Let’s get started

best books

1. Best book you read in 2013?

Hmmmm…..Best book, it should be books! Anyway..

I think I’ll have to say…. Lemony Snicket’s A series of Unfortunate Events ,Sister’s Grimm and the Inheritence cycle. Eeeek, I think that was a little too much >.<

2. Book you were excited about and thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

It’s Graceling and Incarceron! I had heard tons about both books and how amazing they were. So I finally picked them up full of anticipation from the library, but they fell flat for me *sigh*. this is just my opinion and it may be an awesome book for you but Graceling and me just don’t meet. So, yeah.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013?

I didnt think much of Artemis Fowl but now…….yes, it’s me Nirvana, Ultimate fan of Artemis Fowl 😀 (and countless others). I’ve read the entire series and love it!

4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

Heroes of Olympus and A series of Unfortunate Events. I love both author’s writing styles, especially Lemony Snicket’s. It’s unique. And to my dear readers….I highly recommend both if you havent read them (I’d be surprised you haven’t). If you have, well, reread them!!! 😀

5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

Inheritance cycle by Christopher Paolini, Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordon, The Sister’s Grimm, Spiderwick Chronicles, A series of unfortunate events ( Again!! I know,I know…But I can’t stop myself). Vanmpire  Diaries and  Secrets series by Pseudonymous Bosch.There are way too many more but these are the best ones (!!)

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

Lemony Snicket…..The answer to everything!!! His books are genius, and his writing style is just awesome and right now I’m in my Lemony Snicket fan-phase!

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

It’ll have to be  His Dark Materials trilogy . I don’t normally read sci-fiction/paranormal, so I was a bit hesitant reading this and wouldn’t read it at all if it was for the movie, but  I’m glad I did, ’cause I loved it.

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

I read House of Hades recently and…..OMG…..words can’t describe it…

. Book you read in 2013 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

Definitely any book in the Kane Chronicles. They are so FUNNY and exciting….The perfect combination!

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?

Inkheart! Imean look at that cover *sighs happily*. Better still, I’ve got my own copy of it!

11. Most memorable character in 2013?

Where do I start?? I have thousands! Reyna, Lyra, Angela (Eragon), Zoe Nightshade, Sadie (Kane Chronicles) Sabrina Grimm, Cass and Max-Ernest.The list goes on and on and on…..

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

The Northern Lights. It describes everything so well, and not just descriptions, my opinion of things. The author is so much like me that it’s scary. It’s like he crawled into my head and wrote the book.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013?

House of Hades…Duh!

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to read?

The Hunger Games. I decided to ignore everyone hyperventilating about it, but when  I read it- BAM. How could I have waited this long???

15. Favorite passage/quote from a book you read in 2013?

From The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials #1)

The idea hovered and shimmered delicately, like a soap bubble, and she dared not even look at directly in case it burst.But she was familiar with the way of ideas and she let it shimmer , looking away, thinking about something else

I really like this one, because the exact same thing happens to me everyday!Also here’s another one..

From The Grimm Grotto (A Series of Unfortunate Events #8)

“People aren’t either wicked or noble. They’re like chef’s salads, with good things and bad things chopped and mixed together in a vinaigrette of confusion and conflict.”

I also really like this one because of it’s truth. It’s so true that noyone is either good or bad…they can do a lifetime of evil, but before their dying breath they commit an act of good.

16. Shortest and longest book you read in 2013?

Shortest: I was into reading Horrible Histories this year, so I guess those would be the shortest book.

Longest: Eldest by Christopher Paolini

17. Book that had a scene in it that had you reeling and dying to talk to somebody about it?

WARNING! The Subtle Knife spoilers ahead! In The Subtle Knife, when I discovered that Stanislaus Graumm was actually John Parry and Will’s father…I desperately wanted to tell someone and shout OMG. Noyone I knew had read it, except my sister who was still reading it. And trust me, you don’t want to see her angry after you tell her a spoiler! 😀

18. Favorite relationship from a book you read in 2013?

I love Will and Sadie’s relationship in the Throne Of Fire and  in Artemis Fowl, Artemis and Butler’s relationship. the two are so different and their conversations are mostly hilarious.

19. Favorite book you read in 2013 from an author you’ve read previously?

Rick Riordan. I read his latest book, House Of Hades (no duhs)!

20. Best book you read in 2013 that you read based solely on a recommendation from somebody else?

The Fairy Tale Detectives (The Sister’s Grimm #1)

21. Genre you read the most from in 2013?

Loads, but mostly Fantasy and Sci-Fiction.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2013?

Lyra!! Ten points if you can guess which book she’s from!!

23. Best 2013 debut you read?

Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl #1) Nothing else is occuring to me right now 🙂

24. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

Eldest by Christopher Paolini. The plot was somewhat blocked in this book but the imagery (if excessive) was beautiful!

5. Book that was the most fun to read in 2013?

Alanna, The First Adevnturer…It was a really nice book to read and I enjoyed it!

26. Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2013?

A Little Princess, by Frances Hodgsen Burnett.That book is beautiful. It makes me cry each time I read it. I would also say Bridge to Terebithia.

27. Book you read in 2013 that you think got overlooked this year or when it came out?

I would say The Fire Within by Chris D’Lacey. It was a lovely book, but I dont think that it got the attention it needed. It should be in every book store and library and to all readers; read that book, you wont regret it…I promise 😀

book blogging, reading life 2013

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2013?

I’ve read lots of book blogs this year, all of them were awesome and I enjoy reading them so I can’t say I’ve got only ONE favourite book blog!

2. Best discussion you had on your blog?

That would be Goodbye Bunnies!! Check it out here

4. Most thought-provoking review or discussion you read on somebody else’s blog?

Hmmm…I really liked Dwelling on Possibilities on Dreamspinner’s blog

5. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

Yes. We went to a book festival at Pak-China Centre. It was fun, with all sorts of book-related stuff and fun activities.

6. Best moment of book blogging/your book life in 2013?

The best moment would be when I check my email, and  see the highlighted Nirvana’s Pocketful button and get lots of  likes and comments. Keep liking and commenting everyone!

7. Most popular post this year on your blog?

To my astonishment, that would be The Colouful Cracked Effect. I think it was liked because I enjoyed doing it myself too!

8. Post you wished got a little more love?

Probably one of my first poems or stories. But now as I read  them again, they were horrible. But a special thing  about this is, I can see how much I’ve grown, and how my writing skills have improved over time. From a silly 9 year old’s stories that they used to be, they have definitely improved 😀

9. Best bookish discover?

Oooh! I found this awesome library called Kuch Khaas (Something special) It has EVERY book that I had wanted to read for ages. I love going there ^_^

10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

At the start of the year, I went over the top and made a Hu-u-uge Reading List, containg all sorts of wierd books. then I lost it somewhere. But I was spring cleaning  just last week and found it again. To my surprise I had read most of those books and only a few were left *pats herself on the back* =D

looking ahead

1. One book you didn’t get to in 2013 but will be your number 1 priority in 2014?

Inkdeath! It keeps waiting on my bookshelf but I just can’t seem to get to it 😀

2. Book you are most anticipating for 2014 (non-debut)?

I really want to read Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech. I can’t seem to find it anywhere!

3. 2014 debut you are most anticipating?

I actually have no idea, right now I’ve started like a dozen series and are hoping to finish them. If I read one more debut my head is going to *explode* (If you know what I mean)

 4. Series ending you are most anticipating in 2014?

Obviously it’s………. Blood Of Olympus!! (Trumpet sounds in background)

5. One thing you hope to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging in 2014?

I plan on posting more crafts and especially stories. Normally I post once a week, or even less so hopefully I’ll post more. Also recently every story that I wrote I hated. It was like a story inferiority complex :D. Well this time, expect more stories guys!

Phew! Though long, I really enjoyed that. Pass it on, and if you participate too, leave me a link! This took me three days, each day with me promising myself that I’d do it, but I’ve finally done it! Yay! 😀 Have an awesome day everyone!

xxx Nirvana

6 thoughts on “2013 End of Year Book Survey

  1. I read the first three books in Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events! The first one was my favorite, but I haven’t gotten around to reading the others. There are just so many books to be read! I’ve also been wanting to read the Inheritance Cycle for quite some time now, but, like I said, SO many books to be read 😀

    I just bought Graceling! Eeek… Hopefully I enjoy it. I’ve heard a lot of mixed things about this book. I’m scared! Haha 🙂 I also got The Golden Compass months ago after a friend recommended it to me, but I couldn’t seem to get into it. I’ll have to try reading it again.

    Inkheart! I love that series! I actually went to this author signing and Cornelia Funk was there! She signed my copy of Inkheart and some posters 😀 It was so fun!

    I didn’t know you were a Riordan fan! YAY!!! House of Hades was amazing!

    Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. Yay!! You’re reading A Series Of Unfortunate Events. Read the other ones too. YOu’ve only just scratched the surface of Lemony Snicket’s mysterious world!! 😀 Do you know about VFD yet??
    Inheritence Cycle is also nice! Even though Christopher Paolini wastes time on PAGES of description, the storyline is good and I cant wait until I read Brisingr!!

    Ooo! YOu’re reading Graceling! It’s a great book but I had trouble getting into it 😛 Yeah, The Golden Compass…I kind of agrre with you on that! I would’nt have read it at all if it was’nt for the movie. But The Subtle Knife is AWESOME!
    ANd I really ca’t believe you’ve met COrnelia Funk! Aaaah, I’m so jealous :*pouts childishly* 😀

    And I can’t wait for Blood of Olympus…Waiting for books to be launched is so annoying, yet so much fun. the first weeks are agony though (^-^)

    Like

    • Now you’ve piqued my interest about Lemony Snicket! I don’t remember VFD…

      The Inheritance Cycle books are HUGE! I always see them at the library but they’re so intimidating, haha! They’re on my TBR list for this year for sure.

      Ms. Funk was awesome 😀 She had so many great writing tips and was talking about her publishing experiences and the Inkheart movie (have you seen it?).

      Blood of Olympus… *sighs* Riordan is EVIL with those mean cliffhangers. We’ll have to see what he has in store for us in the next book…

      Like

      • I think it VFD first started in the sixth book (The Austere Academy)! I especially like the dedications at the start of the book for Beatrice. THey are so sweet ^-^
        At first, I thought that Beatrice was a real person, but it turns out that she was the Baudeliare’s mother. So that’s why Lemony Snicket is writing the Baudelaire books!

        I had Eragon and Inheritence lying on my shelf for a MONTH before I started reading them, so I can totally understand. Hahaha! Now that you’ve said it, I can’t think of a better way to put it. 😛

        Yep, I’ve seen it Inkheart movie. It’s *AWESOME* I especially love Aunt Elinor. Do you remember Rick’s dedication for HoH???

        ”To my wonderful readers: Sorry about that last cliffhanger.Well no, not really. HAHAHAHA. BUt seriously, I love you guys”

        I makes me laugh each time I read it 😀

        Like

      • Well, the Inheritance Cycle seems like a great read, so I’ll have to get on it! I see it at the bookstore all the time. Perhaps on my next trip, I’ll pick it up 😀

        Ah, yes, the dedication was SO mean!

        Like

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! ♥

