Books and More

Best of Percy Jackson – Top Twenty Seaweed Brain Moments!


Aah – I know everyone will enjoy this, so don’t even pretend, because right now I just know that all who have read Percy Jackson are going to laugh. And smirk. And if you realize if there is something fishy with the colour scheme, let me know in the comments.


  1. “Behold!” Percy shouted. “The god’s chosen beverage. Tremble before the horror of Diet Coke!” 
    ― Rick RiordanThe Mark of Athena 

  2. “Why can’t you place a blessing like that on us?” I asked.
    “It only works on wild animals.”
    “So it would only affect Percy,” Annabeth reasoned.
    “Hey!” I protested.” 
    ― Rick RiordanThe Lightning Thief

  3. “Remind me again-why do you hate me so much?”
    “I don’t hate you.”
    “Could’ve fooled me.”
    She folded her cap of invisibility. “Look…we’re just not supposed to get along, okay? Our parents are rivals.”
    Why?”
    She sighed. “How many reasons do you want? One time my mom caught Poseidon with his girlfriend in Athena’s temple, which is hugely disrespectful. Another time, Athena and Poseidon competed to be the patron god for the city of Athens. Your dad created some stupid saltwater spring for his gift. My mom created the olive tree. The people saw that her gift was better, so they named the city after her.”
    They must really like olives.”
    Oh, forget it.” Now, if she’d invented pizza-that I could understand.”                                        — The Lightning Thief  

  4. “I past another telkhine, who was so startled he dropped his Lil’ Demons lunch box. I left him alive – partly because he had a cool lunch box…” 
    ― The Battle of the Labyrinth

  5. “Percy: The Heka-what? 
    Annabeth: The Hundred-Handed Ones. They called them that because… well, they had a hundred hands. They were the elder brothers of the Cyclopes. 
    Tyson: Very powerful. Wonderful! As tall as the sky. So strong they can break mountains! 
    Percy: Cool. Unless you’re a mountain.” 
    ― Rick RiordanThe Battle of the Labyrinth

  6. “Reyna sent me to get Percy,” Frank said. “Did Octavian accept you?”
    “Yeah,” Percy said. “He slaughtered my panda.” 
    ― Rick RiordanThe Son of Neptune 

  7. We only came close to dying six or seven times which I thought was pretty good. A minute later Annabeth hit a slippery patch of moss and her foot slipped. Fortunately she found something else to put it against. Unfortunately that something was my face.” 
    ― Rick RiordanThe Sea of Monsters

  8. “He was slumped over, blood trickling from the side of his mouth. I shook his furry hip, thinking, No! Even if you are half barnyard animal, you’re my best friend and I don’t want you to die!”                                                                                                                               — The Lightning Thief

  9. I’m calm,” Rachel insisted. “Every time I’m around you, some monsters attack us. What’s to be nervous about?”

    “Look,” I said. “I’m sorry about the band room. I hope they didn’t kick you our or anything.”

    “Nah. They asked me a lot of questions about you. I played dumb.”

    “Was it hard?” Annabeth asked.”

    Rick Riordan, The Battle of the Labyrinth

  10.  Grover was sniffing the wind, looking nervous. He fished out his acorns and threw them into the sand, then played his pipes. They rearranged themselves in a pattern that made no sense to me, but Grover looked concerned. 

    “That’s us,” he said. “Those five nuts right there.” 
    “Which one is me?” I asked. 
    “The little deformed one,” Zoe suggested. 
    “Oh, shut up.” 
    ― Rick RiordanThe Titan’s Curse 

  11. “Hercules,huh? Percy frowned. “That guy was like the Starbucks of Ancient Greece. Everywhere you turn–there he is.” 
    ― Rick RiordanThe Mark of Athena

  12. “Wow,” Thalia muttered. “Apollo is hot.” 
    “He’s the sun god,” I said.
    “That’s not what I meant.” 

  13. The wood nymph instructors left me in the dust. They told me not to worry about it. They’d had centuries of practice running away from lovesick gods. But still, it was a little humiliating to be slower than a tree. ” 
    ― Rick RiordanThe Lightning Thief

  14. Whenever Percy stopped by to see [Annabeth], she was so lost in thought that the conversation went something like this:
    Percy: ‘Hey, how’s it going?’
    Annabeth: ‘Uh, no thanks.’
    Percy: ‘Okay…have you eaten anything today?’
    Annabeth: ‘I think Leo is on duty. Ask him.’
    Percy: ‘So, my hair is on fire.’
    Annabeth: ‘Okay, in a while.” 

  15. “I nodded, looking at Rachel with respect. “You hit the Lord of the Titans in the eye with a blue plastic hairbrush.”
    Rick Riordan

  16. “Now, come over here so I can pat you down.”
    “But you don’t have-” Percy stopped. “Uh, sure.”
    He stood next to the armless statue. Terminus conducted a rigorous mental pat down.
    “You seem to be clean,” Terminus decided. “Do you have anything to declare?”
    “Yes,” Percy said. “I declare that this is stupid.” 
    ― Rick RiordanThe Son of Neptune

  17. Dakota’s head was stuck in his toga. He staggered around olike a Kool-Aid-stained ghost.
    “Um,” Percy said, “should I wear my bed sheets?” 
    ― Rick RiordanThe Son of Neptune

  18. Can’t this thing go any faster?” Thalia demanded.
    Zoe glared at her. “I cannot control traffic.”
    You both sound like my mother,” I said.
    Shut up!” they both said in union.” 
    ― Rick RiordanThe Titan’s Curse 

  19. “Very slowly using two fingers, Annabeth drew her dagger. Instead of dropping it, she tossed it as far as she could into the water. 
    Octavian made a squeaking sound. “What was that for? I didn’t say toss it! That could’ve been evidence. Or spoils of war!”
    Annabeth tried for a dumb-blonde smile, like: Oh, silly me. Nobody who knew her would have been fooled. But Octavian seemed to buy it. He huffed in exasperation. 
    “You other two…” He pointed his blade a Hazel and Piper. “Put your weapons on the dock. No funny bus–“

    All around the Romans, Charleston Harbor erupted like a Las Vegasfountain putting on a show. When the wall of seawater subsided, the three Romans were in the bay, spluttering and frantically trying to stay afloat in their armor. Percy stood on the dock, holding Annabeth’s dagger. 

    “You dropped this,” he said, totally poker-faced.”                                                                    — Rick Riordan, The Mark of Athena

  20. “Um…is that thing tame?” Frank said.

    The horse whinnied angrily.

    “I don’t think so,” Percy guessed. “He just said, ‘I will trample you to death, silly Chinese Canadian baby man’.

    Rick Riordan, The Son of Neptune


Honourable Mentions

  1. I turned to Dionysus. “You cured him?”
    “Madness is my specialty. It was quite simple.”
    “But…you did something nice. Why?”
    He raised and eyebrow. “I am nice! I simple ooze niceness, Perry Johansson. Haven’t you noticed?” 
    ― Rick Riordan, The Battle of the Labyrinth 

  2. “Erre es korakas, Blinky!” Dionysus cursed at the Pacman machine. “I will have your soul!”
    Rick Riordan, The Last Olympian

 


Have a great day, Untitled

 

7 thoughts on “Best of Percy Jackson – Top Twenty Seaweed Brain Moments!

  1. OH, my god. You have me breathless with laughter. I had forgotten how funny Percy Jackson was. I bet you had a lot of fun compiling it. You’ve done an amazing job. And wait, the colour scheme – orange and purple – it’s meant to signify the colours of Camp Half-Blood and Camp Jupiter, right?
    My favourite one was the one sided ‘my hair is on fire’ conversation with Annabeth 😀

    Like

    • Making people laugh is my specialty 😛 I know right? Rick Riordan is a devious mastermind when it comes to making us laugh. Thanks. I did have a lot of fun – and yes, you guessed correctly! I had also meant to have one quote from Camp half-Blood in orange and one quote in purple from Camp Jupiter.
      Thaat’s my little sister’s fave. She threatened me with a bucket of icy cold water if i didn’t put it in. But yes, I love it too 😀

      Like

  2. I laughed really hard! It was so funny! And did your sister really threaten to dump a bucket of water on your head? I absolutely ardor Percy Jackson and The Kane Chronicles.I encourage anybody to read it.

    Like

  3. Hilarious!! Best books EVER! I’m reading them to my little sister right now, and she loves them, too. My favorite quotes above are #10, 14, and 16.

    Like

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! ♥

