Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Books people have been bothering and pestering me to read!


toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the wonderful blog The Broke and the Bookish!

Gaah! I’ve got so many books that people are pestering me to read! How am I only supposed to do ten? This is going to be very hard! 😀

1.To Kill A Mockingbird- Harper Lee. I‘ve been wanting to read this book for ages, and everyone says good things about this book, so why wait? And what a dramatic title too. There are too many books and too little time in the world. Le sigh.

Lord of the Rings J.R.R Tolkiens This is literally like one of the most popular books in fantasy, next to Harry Potter, and me, Nirvana fantasy fangirl is being told by everyone to read it. But its size intimidates me, so for now i’m focusing on the bottom half of my TBR overflow.

The Ranger’s Apprentice John Flanagan I’ve been wanting to get to this one for positively ages.

Eleanor and Park Rainbow Rowell I’ve only read one book by her, and I WANT MORE. (It’s Fangirl, by the way – you can check the post where I mention it here) And again, there is a Eleanor and Park fan bandwagon across the world, which I can join once I read the book.

An Abundance of Katherines John Green A friend of mine is forcing  recommending this read to me, and the blurb and title has also piqued my curiosity. And then of course, I also loved Paper Towns. Hopefully this one is as amazing as that one was! *crosses her fingers*

Let it Snow Maureen Johnson, John Green, Lauren Myracle A friend of mine told me that this is an amazing book, and I’ve seen mixed feelings about this book on Goodreads. I’m excited to read it.  

 

I’d tell you I love you, but then I’d have to kill you Ally Carter Love it’s title and need to read this desperately. Time issue once more. And then, there’s school coming up as well and my summer hols homeworks. *gasps in horror*

Holes Louis Sacher Two of my friends read this book. One said it was terrible and boring, and the other said it was amazing. To read or not to read? The universal question!

 

The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, aged 13 3/4 Sue Townsend I’m not very sure if i want to read this one.

The Magic Half Annie Barrows Little sisters, y’know. Stop at nothing to get their way. It took me half an hour to finish it, so as to quieten her.


Untitled

What do you guys think of my list? Is there any book which I have to get my hands on immediately, and which books should I not read? Comment, comment, comment! 😀

So long…

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Books people have been bothering and pestering me to read!

  1. I have read 1 and 2, and they’re some of my favourite books ever. Lord of the Rings is very lengthy though, it will take you quite some time to finish them, and the language is quite long-winded. But I love how imaginative Tolkien was with his characters, it’s like Middle-Earth really exists.
    1) is great as well. Many have called it one of the greatest American literatures of all time, and I can understand why. Lee weaves together both light hearted moments into a compelling story that addresses very dark issues in society.
    Can’t say about the rest, I only liked one John Green book and that was Looking for Alaska. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m looking forward to reading all of them! (Except the second last one. I’m not very sure how that will turn out 🙂 ) I absolutely dote on fantasy books, I just do, so I’m looking for another good read after finishing a few of the most popular ones, which I all LOVED! >.<
      I've read Looking for Alaska as well, but I think I liked Paper Towns the best. Which books have you read by John Green? I'm just curious to see what you think!

      Like

  2. I have read the Ranger’s Apprentice series. I’m guilty though, I will admit. I didn’t finish the last book. 😥 I know shame on me. I still claim I’m going to read it even after two years of having it. Besides not finishing the series, I enjoyed it. Got a little upset with Who ended up with who. I know its trivial, but it bothered me. When you read it, (if you ever get to it 😉) tell me what you think of the couples.

    Also, have you read the Dresden Files yet? Thought I would contribute to the stack of books to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wasn’t there a cliffhanger or something? Last books usually do that and have your fingers itching to read it XD I also get annoyed when that happens ( x ends up with someone I detest or something)
      I remember the Dresden Files from our little chat 🙂 You have contributed to an overflowing river threatening to break down the dam holding it together! But yeah, I will read it as soon as I can get the book/e-book (though I suspect the latter will be more likely)

      Like

  3. I’ve read, “To Kill A Mockingbird,” because it was required reading for highschool. I liked it. It had a lot of depth and meaning to it. It’s been so long now the only books that stand out in my mind are the ones I either loved or hated. I also read “Lord of the Rings.” Well, I only read the first one in the trilogy. From what I remember it was okay? My dad had the rest of the trilogy, which I’m sure I would have read if I loved the first one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do the EXACT same thing. After a year has passed or something after reading one book, it either is terrible or just FANTABULOUS. It’s not a nice habit, because either I forget the book’s faults, or I forget how I did love the book as well!
      I once started reading the first book in Lord of the Rings, but I had such awesome books waiting for me from the library that I was very distracted and impatient.
      I’m guessing from it’s size that it’s descriptions will be as long-winded as the Inheritence Cycle? (Not that I didn’t like that series) I’m not sure, only someone who has read them can answer that!
      You’re dad reads fantasy on his own? I have to force my dad to read the book which was just heavenly and must be fed into the mind of every single human on the planet 😀
      Okay, I have to end this comment now! When I start talking (or writing) I just don’t know how to stop! I’ll have to work on that ☺

      Like

    • John Green’s writing style and the way he makes me laugh is partly why I enjoyed the other two books I read of his! Ah well, I’ll be getting to Eleanor and Park very soon 🙂
      I must say that the blurb and the first line (There is no lake at Camp Green Lake) really piqued my curiosity so I’ll be reading this book too. Although, with my huge list of books to read I suspect it won’t be anytime soon 😀

      Like

  4. I liked Holes. It has a “mythical” quality about it. While I was a big fan of the Adrian Mole books back in the day, they reference British politics and pop culture of the early 1980s, and would be harder to understand now without some context. I hope you’ve read Eleanor and Park by now!

    Like

    • I love books which do that 🙂 Hmm…I’m not sure then – but of course I will give a try!
      Whatever much I have started I’m absolutely LOVING it! I look forward to a bookish discussion when I’m done with it!

      Like

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! ♥

