Story Treasury

Rant: Fangirling over Legend of Korra


I just finished Legend of Korra, Book 3 and boy was it good. *hyperventilates, wipes away her tears & fangirls* Β I went on my daily routine of fangirling after watching or reading something mindblowing. a.k.a checking out podcasts, conspiracy theories, the next release dates and joining forums.

Three words: AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING.

First of all: This post – though it may be more of a rant – contains a lot of spoilers for Legend of Korra, season three. So if you are in any way interested in watching the series/ or in the process of watching it: TURN BACK NOW! Otherwise, read on and enjoy.

Okay, since we have that covered now, I’ll just do alot of talking. πŸ™‚

Firstly, the end was just so amazing. It was, well, different. Different to the previous endings to the last two seasons. It was so bittersweet, and it made me cry. In a way, it made me feel happy too. It was the way I felt after finishing an amazing book with a sequel still to come. And most of all – because it wasn’t a happily ever after. It was the way real life is.

And when Jinora got her tattoos – well, Wow. It was so touching and heartfelt. I think that Β the last two episodes of the season were amazing. At least, that they shined above all the previous ones.

Note: Did anyone notice that the poison they were administering into her was actually mercury? It even behaved like mercury! Just a thought.

Now onto the little details in books which matter a lot. They do.

Might I say I love Avatar partly because it’s so relatable to real life. The way life is, not compared to those books and TV shows that I detest with with a happily ever after. I mentioned it above as well. Anyway, how many times have we come across that cliched situation when the main character needs to master this amazing and rare skill but are unable to, no matter what they try. Then when they are put under pressure and everyone’s life is in danger – or they get a touching and motivational speech, they somehow miraculously acquire this skill and save the day.

I’m relieved to say that thank god Avatar did not do the same. Bolin needed to get Mako and himself out of prison and metal bend but he couldn’t. Korra and Su tried their best to teach him, but they couldn’t. Like real life. It turns out that he could do something totally different but cherished nonetheless – lavabend.

Also, a smaller point but just as important to fans like me.

THEIR HAIR IS NOT PERFECT.

*clears her throat* Yes, it IS important. Because in EVERY movie I’ve watched, how come is it that the hero/heroine had perfect hairΒ after the worst fight of their life in the middle of the night. Really. Here is important proof πŸ˜€

There are also plenty of other examples but I can’t bother to re-watch the episodes and take a screen shot. My sister and I have exchanges of intellectual dialogue on life-changing topics like these.

Then there is Kaya. Katara’s next of kin. Love her. Full stop. Especially since she was the one who realized that Jinora was the one who could lead Korra into the spirit world. But why is it that she is the daughter of one of the most powerful waterbenders in the world, and loses in every fight she is in. Yes, she gives the villains a hard time (especially Zaheer) but can’t she have atleast one winning fight. Think about it.

I would also like to see more of Zuko. When they first showed him in season three, I had SUCH a hard time seeing him as Firelord and an old man. Very hard. But i would have also liked to see more of him, rather than in one short scene in which he gives Korra some advice.

Gaah! See?

One of my most favourite people in the series was also Tenzin. Go Tenzin!!!!!!! No such thing as too much chocolate or exclamation marks, right? And I was just sitting on the edge of my seat cheering for him. Finally somebody kicks Zaheer’s butt and gives him a hard time. For that I Β will give him a huge high five.

Now another important point. Why did everyone keep on thinking that Su (Lin’s sister) is part of the Red Lotus. Seriously? First of all she was Toph’s daughter, and from a very early age her mom would have taught her to be on good terms with the Avatar. Su was a rebel, but remember that Lin and Su would do anything to please their mom. And she cares for Opal. So why would she go against her. You can find a lot of more good reasons as well except i can’t find that site any more.. It’s provides solid points that she isn’t. But now since the last episodes have been released it’s all proven so yep.

My reaction to the people who think Suyin is evil:

Ha! Lin is so awesome as well XD

Oh Mako!

And then there was Mako. God, his awkwardness around Korra and Asami was so darn hilarious. Lol. And when he kept on being the image of formal with Korra. *giggles*

And did any of you notice that P’li was taller than Zaheer? So when they kissed, Zaheer had to crane his neck upward. Little details like that matter. They do.

Oh, and the vendor who thought that his drinks was terrible. Just AWWWWW. And Mako’s grandmother. Sooo awkward. Sighs happily.


This post – er, I meant rant – was a very scattered one. So sorry about that. But a very big CONGRATULATIONS to you if you are reading this. It means that you read Β (or skimmed) through my entire insanely long post post. So congrats. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

If any of you are an Avatar fan: Comment. Comment. Comment! I love talking about things, and your comments would make my day. What did you guys think of Legend of Korra? Which scenes did you like the best? Did you like Legend of Aang? I love any Avatar conversation.

If you are NOT an Avatar fan: Comment. Comment. Comment anyway. I read and watch a lot of books and would love talking. Which books would you recommend to me? Which TV series are your faves? Do you watch Sherlock or Docter Who?Β 

And now that I have gotten this stream of though out of my system, I can curl up and fish out my Tab. And then finish Cress, by Marissa Mayer. Oooh, Β and what did you guys think of Cinder?

 

25 thoughts on “Rant: Fangirling over Legend of Korra

  1. I have watched a bit of the Avatar cartoon but am well and truly floating here πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Is Legend of Korra related to the series? Last I remember (a very long time ago, mind you) was Aang and the gang tried to fight the Fire Nation during some eclipse or something but failed. And afterwards Prince Zuko joined them and taught the avatar how to fire bend. This post has definitely got me interested enough to revisit the entire series, haha πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Legend of Korra is a sequel to the Avatar: The Last Airbender series. It narrates the tale of the next Avatar. Definitely do watch the series. You remember correctly πŸ˜€
      It’s serious, and funny. It gets dark and scary, but addresses the lighter issues of life ( at least this is what I noticed while watching it) And most of all, the idea of bending the four elements is just so AWESOME!

      Like

  2. OOHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
    The ending though. cries
    Look at this though: http://cookiekhaleesi.tumblr.com/image/95605472769
    It’s reasoning behind the ending. She’s all crippled and traumatized, but that adds the depth.
    Also, Tenzin IS GREAT! I loved that fight scene.
    I’ll have to make my own post on the ending.

    Liked by 1 person

    • AAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! I know, the ending. sobs in return
      Ooh, I checked out the link. Yeah, it’s so true. I actually never even thought it to be that way. Except for her friends her whole identity is based on being the Avatar. The insight was actually very wise xD
      Oh, and President Rico just gets on my nerves. ALL THE TIME. Just so so annoying with his press and prissy orders. And in the end, he just managed to make Korra feel a whole lot better. Geez, thanks, I wanted to say.
      Do write your post. NOW. insists insistently πŸ˜€ I’d love to read it!

      Like

  3. Yeah!!I love the fact that when they needed to do some thing they didn’t get it, and came up with some thing entirely different! Lava bending is so cool! Wonder why they didn’t introduce it in TLA.
    The Kaya and Tenzin points are so true. Definitely want to see more of Kaya. And Zuko? Old??he still had his dry humor and everything but I wanted more scenes of him.And then there’s Jinora’s tattoos.Love that.And Lin is just awesome.I absolutely despise the Su conspiracy theorists.Then that president Raiko. I absolutely hate him How dare he banish her and then try to get on her good side!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • i bet they wanted to introduce some new type of bending in Lok as well, so that may be a reason. YES! I hate the people who think Su is evil as well! AND I CANNOT WAIT FOR THE NEXT SEASON!! WAITING IS TOO HARD πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
      Raico is so changably annoying. shakes her head in exasperation
      And yes, the world may be ending but Zuko’s dry humour won’t πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I ALSO CAN’T WAIT FOR THE NEXT SEASON!!!!!!!!!!!
        I can’t believe that we have to wait about a year for the next episode.Lava bending is really cool I hope they show more of it in S4. Wonder what the villain will be in the next book.I hope they focus in the Fire Nation since Book 1 was about Korra’s Airbending, 2 was about the Water Tribe conflict and B3 was focusing in the Earth Kingdom, Metalbending and Lavabending

        Like

      • That is actually very clever! I never though of it that way before – quite ingenious winks (inside joke)
        I know! I really can’t see how the villains can get any more dangerous. First a maniac tries to wipe out all the benders in the world. Then a dark spirit threatens to drown Earth in 10,000 years of chaos. Third, a guy tries to wipe out the Avatar cycle. How could it get any worse?

        Liked by 1 person

    • Another LoK and Avatar fan! YAY! YAY! YAY! Same here 😦 I never thought that I would ever see Korra crying. Apart from the time she’s attacked in the middle of the night by Amon of course.
      I loved your rant. Oh, and I saw from your blog that you love Sherlock AND Docter Who AND that you live in Pakistan. I know I shouldn’t ask ^.^ but do you live in Islamabad? I really and truly think we may be soulsisters from our taste in books and TV shows!!!

      Like

      • Heck yes, I live in Islamabad πŸ˜€ this is exciting xD I’ve read the lunar chronicles too and ASJDFG I LOVE CINDER AND SCARLET AND CRESS. i think it’s super adorable but one of my friends read Cinder and she was like ew cyborg so i couldn’t talk about cinder to anyone BUT NOW YOU SHOWED UP LOL

        Like

      • Oh my god, this IS so EXCITING β™‘ I never come across anyone who lived where I lived in the past two years of blogging. You’ve also read lunar chronicles? Notice that I’m jumping hyperactively while reading this! I think that being cyborg is pretty cool. I mean, Cinder’s retina display is so convenient. And thorne and cress, I could just go on and on. I CANT BELEIVE I HAVE TO WAIT A YEAR FOR WINTER! xD
        Have you read the Divergent series?

        Like

      • Yes! I have read divergent but I didn’t like it as much as the lunar chronicles.
        I just realized my replies are coming as anonymous. Actually, I’m on mobile atm. Uh, would you like my contact? I’m on twitter (@KanraTSK) and email themowolverinewrites@gmail.com
        Looking forward to your acquaintance.

        Like

      • I think that the first two books were epic, but the last book’s ending kind of ruined the experience for me. It was what one might call phazool πŸ˜‰
        Im not on twitter but I will add you to my email right now…

        Like

  4. Oh my gosh, dude, this season was so good. Soooo much better than Korra 1 and 2 (even though they were pretty good, I definitely prefer this one over them!) I can also see why they took Season 3 off air on Nickelodeon and instead put them online, some of the messages sent through it weren’t the greatest for kids and there were a bunch more graphic scenes than there were in any previous LoK or ATLA season (not to say that they were bad or anything, they were actually really well done in my opinion). But yeah, I totally agree with you on what you’re saying, I love the little thought and detail they put into their characters to make them more realistic and diverse πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really was! I think I’m still in shock over the ending πŸ˜› And yes, the books DEFINITELY improve! Yep, it was most definitely more graphic. There’s a suicide, a lady blowing up her own head, one waterbender electrocuted and who knows how many more. But I liked it. I’ve grown as the series have progressed, and if they made Korra into the same goofy kid Aang was in The Last Airbender season 1….Well…
      Yeah, the characters seemed more…real! Like people. With their flaws and good stuff XD

      Like

  5. Omg I seriously need to watch this serious! I was obsessed with Avatar (huge crush on Zuko and Aang), I even have a Momo plush toy and okay… maybe quite a lot of other toys hahaha XD

    Like

    • watchKorrawatchKorra! It’s so amazing. And best of all, a continuation of Avatar. Just…YAY πŸ˜€

      MOMO!!! nostalgia God, I miss Aang’s adventures so much. I think I’ve watched each and every episode more than six times (First I forced my mom and dad. Then my uncle. Then my…the list goes on. I was pretty obsessed and major fangirl :D)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha I tried to get my friend to watch it the other day but she refused… I was like PLEAAAASEEEE it’s sooooo good! I’m going to start watching it again this week (who cares about uni when there’s Avatar!) and then start Korra! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Wherein I talk about New Years & why 2014 was Fabulous… | Nirvana's Pocketful

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! β™₯

