Books and More

Harry Potter Spell Book Tag + Mo in Inkheart + Photos of the BEST BOOKS EVER!


Whew! Take a deeeep breath after that insanely long post title. Now breathe out.

Good! ;D

This post has two parts:  Harry Potter Spells book tag and a photo session of my darling HP books. Before you scroll down impatiently to have a look at hem, I must warn you about something.

That’s right 😉 Spines.

No, not human spines but book spines. Or more accurately, broken ones.

Broken spines and tattered books are my biggest pet peeves. I positively loathe anyone who does that to my brands new wonderful books. I mean, who could have the heart to do that?

shocked animated GIF

Even the little kitty to your left can’t imagine why 😉 Trust me if I had the means to do it, I would start a BookLine. Yup, just like ChildLine. Because I take care of my books like a mom takes care of her kid.

And on the pamphlet it would say:

BookLine: Saving lives of books here and everywhere. If you have seen a book abuser in the act or find your books mishandled, call 1800-1234 immediately.

You know why Mo is my favourite character in Inkheart (Alright, second favourite! Voilante stays top) Becuse a) He loves reading books and teaches his daughter to do so b) His house is so awesome. Anyone who has read the books will remember the description of exactly HOW MANY books were in his house. c) HE IS A BOOK DOCTER! Now that is one awesome profession. A profession where it is your JOB to fix books, handle them everyday and make hem new ‘clothes’

Random thought: ‘I love duct tape’ Remind you of someone in Inkheart?

Alright, I’m done rambling, so let’s start!


PART 1: Photo Session for my Darlings 

As promised 😀 :

Untitled design

Obviously, after looking at the state of my HP book, you must think that this opposes what I mentioned above. Of course it does! But I have to say that Harry Potter is a sole exception. (And there is the Inheritence cycle too. How are you supposed to read books that thick without getting a spine? Think about it.)

I have devoured   read the books so many times for so long that it couldn’t be helped. I would get myself a spanking brand new Harry Potter set, but my reason: I don’t have the heart to.

I will mention an Inkheart qoute (again) for the simple fact that they are so awesome and true. It says:

“If you take a book with you on a journey,” Mo had said when he put the first one in her box, “an odd thing happens: The book begins collecting your memories. And forever after you have only to open that book to be back where you first read it. It will all come into your mind with the very first words: the sights you saw in that place, what it smelled like, the ice cream you ate while you were reading it… yes, books are like flypaper—memories cling to the printed page better than anything else.”
Cornelia Funke, Inkheart

IMG_20140830_131726

As you can see, there is a witch’s hat in the background. Unfortunately it choose to copy movements that may resemble that of a contortionist at *exactly* the wrong moment. Also, I urge you to click this photo and zoom up on Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. And then marvel at what sorts of misdemeanors this book has gone on with me xD

And now you shall know why. Each time I open the book, it brings back a memory. A memory from the reading journey which changed my life and in ways made me who I am.

 


 PART TWO: Harry Potter Spell Book Tag

And now for the Harry Potter Spell Book Tag! littleonionwrites tagged me to do this. You can all find her post here. So, here we go…

expecto patronum

Untitled

 

You all must know by now how much I loved Enid Blyton’s mystery series as a kid. And Nancy Drew…It was these two book series which really got me into mystery book, which by the way I ADORE!

It reminds of the times where we used to live in England. We would go to one library which would allow upto twenty books. I used to take all twenty. If I wanted to get a few more books badly, the librarian would allow me to. She knew we ca,e almost EVERYDAY and always returned the books. This memory just makes me so happy and feel like smiling.

 

expelliarmus

A friend gave me this book and said ‘YOU HAVE TO READ THIS NOW!’ So I did. And the fantasy and middle-grade fiction fan I am totally in love with this series. And I ship Puck and Sabrina. They are soo cute together ^-^

prior incantarto

Lunar chronicles is the best thing that happened to me in ages! And the hardest part: Winter comes out in 2015!!

 

Waiting for a book is the hardest things EVER! But Marissa Meyer is also writing another book. Yup, it’s called Fairest: Levana’s Story. Eeeek, I can’t wait. I actually found this out from Ana @ Butterflies of the Imagination. You can check out the post where she mentions it here.

alohomora

ffdfdfs

I’m going to cheat again and do two >.< I never wanted to give contemporary YA a try before The Fault in Our Stars, but it is a Really. Good. Genre. Full stop.

I read the Hunger Games when I was eleven years old, and before it I had no idea what dystopia even was! Of course, my little sister knew what that genre was at the age of six – thanks to having such an awesome older sister like me XD Needless to say, my eleven year old self devoured the series.

ridiculous

Let me say something. I hated this book. I own a hardcover copy of it thanks to my whimsical book buying urges when I enter a book shop. It’s a parody of Harry Potter, in case you didn’t notice. It ridiculed the characters in the world I had come to love so much.

Lon Measly? Ermine Cringer? Hogwash? Not funny.

So why did I start giggling at the distressing  book halfway? Now that is a question I’d like to answer.

shrug animated GIF

sonorous

I would obviously say the Lunar Chronicles  because that is my recent obsession, but since I’ve already mentioned it once, I’ll go with Incarceron. It has it’s flaws, but AMAZING nevertheless. And the cover is just gorgeous.  I’ll have to get my hands on Sapphique soon…

obliviate

I usually drop a book by the first hundred pages (or  if I hate it from the start. SOMETIMES, I might stagger through the entire book. But that doesn’t happen often. Same goes for my buying habits. i can’t take a chance with my precious money in case it goes somewhere NOT worth spending 😛

imperio

I may have enjoyed it, if our English teacher had not made us reread each chapter three time. O.o

crucio

I had been conveniently  warned of the spoiler by my friend in Allegiant. She had been told the spoiler by her elder sister so when she learned that I was reading the series, she obviously could not live without NOT telling me. *huffs*

avada kedavra

A book this size….*shakes her head* is capable of murder. You could KILL someone with the hardback. Crack their skull and other serious injuries. So, this book can kill.

Well, that was a picture heavy post. If you have nothing better to do, I dare you to count how many there are XD

And now for the people I tag:

Desiree B @ The Inky Tavern

Sabrina Wolfheart @ Books  and Bark

Spirit @ [ Pen to Paper ]

Appletaile @ This is the Taile

Paper Butterfly

 

I do not own the pictures for the spell banners. Photo Credits for the Spell Headings all go to  Brilliantly Novel. The post in which she uses them can be found here. Go check out this wonderful book blog right now – you won’t regret it. 🙂

 

27 thoughts on “Harry Potter Spell Book Tag + Mo in Inkheart + Photos of the BEST BOOKS EVER!

  1. LUNAR CHRONICLES. NEW LUNAR CHRONICLES STORY.
    -_- Why did no one tell me?
    I’ve got to admit that I’m a sucker for nice book covers, and the cover for Incarceron (*goes to check if she’s spelt it right*) is pretty awesome. The question is, do they have it at my library? :-/

    Like

    • flails I’ve told you, so there 😉
      I’m another one of those people who judges book by their cover. It’s a very important part of the book, not to mention the fangirling session afterwards ^^
      Buy it if it isn’t in the library. After nitpicking, you’ll find that you LOVED it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • In fact, they DO have it in my library! I just got it out the other day, and I’m about two thirds of the way through. I like it a lot so far. 🙂
        (Although the version I have doesn’t have that beautiful cover – my one is red, and sadly not nearly as nice.)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post, and I loved your answers. ^-^ Despite not liking to crack the spines on my books, after it’s done, I can’t help but like the look for some reason, heheh. The only Harry Potter book I own that looks really bad is DH, because the other six books I borrowed from the library (though I own them all now).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! ❤ ❤ I'm seldom very happy with my posts – I always come up with things to edit the minute I hit the publish button. This actually one of the few posts that I'm COMPLETELY happy with!
      Really? But at least, when a spine does crack, it's a relief not to read it while opening it so little (yes, I do that 😛 Don't ask why) When I was planning to read the series, whenever I saw one of the HP books on a stall, I went ahead and bought it. I had no idea which book came first and which went last, but I kept on going until I had all of them! That way I didn't have to wait to read the next book ^-^

      Like

  3. My best friend and I on a whim decided to buy a second-hand hard cover copy of Barry Trotter from a vendor on the street. We decided to ‘share’ it, although she never got around to reading past 20 pages of it, haha 😀 When I finally got it (after like 2 days;) ) I decided to take it with me to our college library. Bad idea. I was bursting out with laughter the whole time. Funny thing is though after I walked out the library I never looked at it again, never finished it, and to this day it sits prettily on my bookshelf probably wondering why I won’t pick it up 🙂

    Like

    • My sister and I had a somewhat similar whim like yours to buy it. Okay, time to fess up: I DIDN’T COMPLETE THE BOOK XD

      I tried though, on a day where i was dying from boredom. But this book – though it made me smile at most – irked me. I wasn’t able to finish it either. Quite, quite relieving to hear I’m not the only one.
      After (half) finishing, it also sits prettily next to the HP books on my shelf :3

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know! After a while of reading it just became extremely ridiculous and irksome! Like the author had to ridicule EVERYTHING about the books which after a while became overkill 😀

        Like

  4. Such a lovely post. I have never even heard of an HP tag. I have read all HP books but own none. I never knew there was a parody out for HP though it almost sounds blasphemous!. If I came across it, I wouldn’t have bought it for myself. When you say it’s funny, can you give me an instance from the book, so that I get an idea?. Some of these book covers are stunning. The sweetest/funniest thing in this post is about your six year old sis getting to know about dystopia :P.. Lol!

    Like

    • Thankyou neenz! ♥
      It’s not exactly funny, but it is really weird when Fred and George are ‘Ferd and Jorge’ and Muggles are ‘Muddles’ 😀
      My little six year old sis is almost nine now, and quite the accomplished young reader. She’s read HP, PJ and the entire Inheritence cycle. If you haven’t heard of those books, google them up. Gosh, they’re big and heavy. 🙂 But it’s quite a relief for me. Who would I talk to about the books if she didn’t read them??

      Like

  5. Aww, this is such a great tag! Hopefully I’ll be able to find some time to do it. It combines Harry Potter spells with other books so how could I not? Those are like my two favourite things in the world 😛

    Your choices were quite interesting! I definitely agree with the Allegiant one – I haven’t read it either yet I know of what happens. I really hate spoilers…

    And the Inkheart quotes! ❤ I was just thinking about that the other day when four of my Game of Thrones books couldn't fit in to the sleeve they came in. I guess books do get thicker over time 🙂

    Thanks for the tag, I'll try to get on it as soon as I can!

    Liked by 1 person

    • DO do the tag 😉 It’s so much fun to do – and yes, they’re one my most favourite things in the world too!
      Spoilers are SO annoying. They make you want to strangle the person (only hypothetically of course 🙂 ) winces
      Wow! That just proves Cornelia Funke to be right once more! They really do get thicker…

      Like

    • Thankyou! Though I wasn’t too happy with the outcome of the pics at first, all seven books look amazing in my eyes. Them and I have been through so much ♡ But one thing is for sure, and that is that these books won’t ever face deprivation of love 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  6. I’m the same when it comes to books! I try to keep them in pristine condition, but my cats destroyed a few (Pumpkin liked to gnaw on the corners XD), and then time and wear took care of the rest. Once they are ugly looking I don’t really care what they look like anymore. That kitty gif is so cute :3

    I’ve never read Tolstoy or Dickens. I tried reading Crime and Punishment for fun, but it wasn’t really fun so I stopped XD I’m sure there is merit in classics, but the old English makes it difficult to slog through.

    Okay, I had to look up Allegiant. I knew of Divergent, but not enough to know the names of the other books in the trilogy. I heard the first one was good. I just saw the movie, and it wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t as good as The Hunger Games IMO. There were several parts in the movie where I was questioning how well their set-up would work.

    I added Incarceron to my reading list. The cover is beautiful, and I bet it smells nice XD It looks like an interesting story as well, lol. Sounds dystopian in nature, but I’m not sure from the synopsis. Cinder is on my reading list too 😀

    I loved Nancy Drew as a kid, lol. Along with that I loved Goosebumps and Babysitters Club: Little Sister.

    Thanks for tagging me 😀 This should be a fun one to do ^^

    Like

    • My rabbits destroyed a few magazine. Their favourite snack in the entire world was paper. And there were books everywhere at my house! I wish I could show you what they did to a few of my books (thankfully not my favourites) so I totally know what it feels like when your cats ate yours XD

      I know! Old English makes it such a bummer to read 🙂 But I’l have to go through at least ONE! Y’know, so I boast to my sister. Okay, I was just kidding about that last part – but I will dare myself sometme soon 😀

      The Hunger Games movie was amazing. But don’t judge the Divergent book by it’s movie. It’s quite good, though the standard falls by the third book. But you HAVE to give the first book a try 🙂
      It DOES smell nice XD And the hardback I got from the library makes me feel giddy with hapiness! It’s nice 🙂 I didn’t like the blurb too much either – I kept on forming a better one in my mind. Here’s a little teaser, then, to pique your curiosity 😀

      It’s about a ‘Prison which is alive‘ and that’s all I’ll say – you’ll have to find out the rest by yourself ☺
      When you are done with Cinder, comment on my blog – then we can have a discussion! It’ll be fun 😀

      Like

  7. Okay, I just looked up the author of Cinder, and apparently she was a prolific fanfiction writer in her early days XD Fanfiction has a bad reputation, but there are some legitimately great writers on both fanfiction.net and AO3. Some transition to original fiction while others love fanfiction to much to leave. You can potentially turn Alternate Universe Stories into fiction and publish it, like E.L. James did with “50 Shades of Grey.” But if you write a storyline that follows canon you can’t ever publish it or make money on it.

    Like

    • WHAT? Marissa Meyer was a fanfiction writer? I never knew! rushes off to find out more about Marissa Meyer

      There definitely are alot of great writers on fanfiction.net I know so because I read alot of fanfiction there, and some of it is quite good!
      Yeah, that’s a sad truth…But in my opinion, if it gets really famous or really popular on those websites, the experience is still worth it, even if you don’t make money. But that’d the Nirvana way of thinking I suppose – maybe that does matter to other writers 😀

      Like

  8. Pingback: Harry Potter Book Tag!! | Inky Tavern

  9. I totally agree with you, Incarceron is so awesome! Have you read the sequel, Sapphique? I swear, Catherine Fisher is insanely talented. 😀 And I love the Lunar Chronicles, too. In fact, I just finished Scarlet. :3 Didn’t like it as much as Cinder, so I’m going to make myself wait until Thanksgiving/Winter break to check out Cress from the library.

    You used to live in England?? Did you grow up there? 😀 That’s so cool! I’ve always wanted to visit. (Which part of England, may I ask?) All my favorite authors are English or Scottish. And GOD. Allegiant was awful. Veronica Roth should have just stopped at Divergent. Or I should have. Allegiant was just… WHAT JUST HAPPENED??

    I actually LIKED Great Expectations. Somehow. Or maybe I just liked ranting on Pip with my friends. Anywho, it somehow got 4/5 stars: http://booksandbark.wordpress.com/2014/03/23/great-expectations/

    Thanks for tagging me! 😀 Looking forward to this. 😛

    Like

    • YAY INCARCERON FAN 😀 Sapphique is on my massive TBR right now. I want to read it so much, but i can’t seem to find it anywhere

      Very frustrating. If you think Scarlet wasn’t that good, just give Cress a try. You will LOVE it, I promise you. Marissa Meyer really had improved (I had guessed that Cinder was Princess Selene in Cinder on like, what? Page 28, I think?)

      I lived in England for about 3-4 years. It’s an amazing place, and I loved every bit of it (even the weather, it’s really really hot where I live xD) I actually lived in London, the big city itself. 🙂

      Yup, Allegiant sucked. Maybe I should give Great Expectations another try. I just have so many books to read that this one ends up being left behind. Plus my friend had bragging rights since she read it too, so maybe I shall ^^

      Looking forward to your post…

      Like

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! ♥

