In which Nirvana wonders

Discussion: Villains are Awesome…


This is probably one of the weirdest bookish confessions that you’ll come across the net. But then, I am different. Understatement of the year.

Okay, here we go…

I love the villains in books almost as much as the butt-kicking hero/heroine. I despise them, but in a way I love them too. Talk about unhealthy obsessions.

In fact, nothing pleases me than a good dose of evil. World dominating power hungry maniac with unhealthy obsessions, bring it on…

A well written book has an amazing protagonist, but it also has an amazing VILLAIN! Come on, who doesn’t love the evil guys at some point. I’ve been working on my dystopian book lately, when I noticed that I had a LOT of fun writing the villainy bits.

When he’s about to kill my protagonist. When he waggles his villainy evil fingers. When he finds out that he needs his evil laugh as well to be a complete evil guy (kidding) .It was almost as much fun as when Wren escaped. Almost.

That’s right! Along with hoping Aang and the others got away, I partly WANTED Azula to catch Aang in Avatar. I imitated her and admired her. I LIKED Voilante, even when she was villain, before she turned good (though I think that one is a little more understandable). And yes *gasps in horror*

I liked Bellatrix Lestrange. She was one of my favourite villains.

tumblr_n0zq73pLK81sixev5o7_500Bellatrix-Lestrange-harry-potter-30727516-400-187

I hated Bellatrix for killing Sirius, don’t get me wrong. Sirius was one of my most favourite characters in the series; he bought Harry the Firebolt, he saved his life a couple of times, he was so much fun,ย and most of all he genuinely cared for Harry *hint Dursleys hint*

But I still did, in a weird sort of way. Though I’m going to inform you that this soon ended when she murdered Dobby. Nope, I couldn’t take it any more. That’s when childish hate turned into despising. (Oops, I suppose that was a spoiler. Sorry. But I think most of the audience reading this have read HP anyway ๐Ÿ™‚ )

And my dear sister and I spent hours practicing our hem hems. United behind our hate of Umbridge. ๐Ÿ˜€ *sighs happily*

Okay, I’m wandering outside the point. What I mean to say is, that villains are quite an important part of a story. They build your story quite as much as the main character does. You have to make them so loathable (Not a word. Don’t even try and Google it) that in the end people are forced to copy their trademark act united behind their hate of that guy or gal the most evil of villains are sometimes the females too. Evilness.Tee hee…

What? That’s when writing a story becomes even more fun. Ah, suffering, pain, plagues, deaths… Let the insanity begin!

And there’s the end of a fun giphy bookish discussion for y’all!

What do you think? Are villains an important part of the book to you? Do any of you sometimes love the villains?

Your villain truly,

Untitled

37 thoughts on “Discussion: Villains are Awesome…

  1. I think villains are very important and might be even more essential than the protagonist. A hero is only as good as his/her villain who tends to get less screen or page time. So you have to really bring their personality and actions out in every scene. By doing this, a writer can make a villain more memorable. A great example is Star Wars. I’m sure one of the first (if not the first) thing that came to your mind was Darth Vader or Boba Fett. Though I’m still not sure how Fett got to be so big since he had no personality in the original movies.

    Like

    • I agree. While writing about villains, you have to make sure that EVERY word counts. No paragraph should be wasted, unless it add to the antagonist’s personality or progresses the story forward in some way or the other. And making the reader as terrified as the protagonist is of the villain, is also a skill that requires talent.
      And Darth Vader and Boba Fett are great examples. Perfect!

      Like

      • Sometimes I wonder if terrified is always the way to go. I’m actually a fan of a villain who the reader can have some respect for and maybe even want to win on some level. Something about a reader getting torn between sides appeals to me. Though I tend to inevitably side with the hero in the end.

        Like

      • I always do end up siding with the hero, unless it’s something specific. But having the hero torn does add an element. Like Percy, in Percy Jackson for example. Even in the final battle against Kronos, he found himself understanding why Luke turned, and sometimes felt like joining their side too. for a while, he thought about turning against his cause.
        Because the story seems shallow, if the antagonist doesn’t have a valid and understandable reason to fight against ‘good’ ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  2. I don’t think I like villains as much as you do, but I do like the especially wicked ones. It has to be particular type of evil. ๐Ÿ˜ˆ (This is a weird discussion.)
    And ‘giphy’? Has a new word been created here? ๐Ÿ™‚ I like it. I need to employ some gifs in my posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re very right! It has to be this specific sort of evil. And the especially wicked ones ARE awesome โ™ฅ I can’t beleive we are talking about this either ๐Ÿ˜€
      Let’s just say that it has. And yay ๐Ÿ˜‰ Employ some gifs. It will be the best thing you do. Gifs are life ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  3. Was at the last Harry Potter movie cheering “Go Voldemort!” and everyone looked upset…
    Villains are definitely the most important. You can just have a flat main character as long as the villain is great. If you make them likable it’s even better but either type is fine. It’s like King Leck from Graceling was all horrible but he also took in injured animals and nursed them back to health. You’ve got Sosuke Aizen from Bleach who taught a calligraphy class and was in a photo book titled Smile of the Sun. You can’t hate a sun smile. And of course there is Dr. Horrible who has a bachelor’s degree in hugability. Villains are the best.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, I don’t think I supported Voldemort as much though…It was his henchmen who killed SO MANY of my favourite characters, some of which I’m still in mourning about!
      Oh my god! How could I forget King Leck? And yes, he has so much depth, and is in no way flat or two dimensional. I haven’t heard of Bleach, but a villain who teaches a calligraphy class and has a sun smile has just piqued my curiosity. Maybe I should give it a try…

      And yes, villains are AWESOME ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  4. My two closest friends prefer the intelligent villain over the not as intelligent hero. I’m actually the opposite ๐Ÿ˜„ But I did learn to appreciate the villains through them. The most popular game of the whole Final Fantasy series (there are 14, but many more counting sequels and prequels) is Final Fantasy VII. A lot of it is due to the villain, Sephiroth. Without going into an essay on the subject, I think a lot of it is due to Sephiroth fighting on the good side before he had a psychotic break. But the company he was originally fighting for was destroying the planet, so the whole good-bad dynamic is inherent in most of the characters. By the end, Sephiroth wants to destroy all life on the planet, so that’s clearly bad ๐Ÿ˜„ There’s also a certain je ne sais quoi about him too. I learned to love him because of my friends. I naturally gravitate towards the heroes, lol.

    Also, he and Cloud (the protagonist) have such good chemistry. I’m not talking about love, but the whole hate/obsession thing that they have for each other. I think the chemistry between villain and protagonist is a huge thing as well.

    Other smart and complex villains that come to mind are Loki (Avengers) and Hannibal (prequel show to the movies). I’m sure there are many more! These are just the ones my friends are into, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting! ๐Ÿ˜€
      I commend your friends for their taste ๐Ÿ™‚ . But like you, I also love the main character (only if she’s/he’s awesome and been written through properly) I’ve actually never played the final fantasy games, but your comment has made me Google it. Over fourteen, huh? Woah, that sounds like a lot. But I remember saying that to a thirteen book series my friend iฬถmฬถpฬถoฬถsฬถeฬถdฬถ recommended to me, and let’s just say they were AMAZING ๐Ÿ˜„

      Final Fantasy does sound pretty cool! And looks like the makers have given Sephiroth a lot of depth, which is just the sort of villain I admire. That there is something behind his evil smile.

      I gravitate to both the hero and the villain, apparently. Which puts me into quite a fix, because when there is a scene featuring the protagonist, I support him. And when there is a scene with the antagonist, I support him/her. I know where my loyalties lie ( ๐Ÿ˜„ ) but this tiny part of me supports the villain in the final battle too. That’s the one disadvantage of supporting the antagonist guilty smile

      And yes, I can think of a LOT of smart and dangerous villains I lฬถoฬถoฬถkฬถ ฬถuฬถpฬถ ฬถtฬถoฬถ admire ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  5. Certain villains do have an appeal. Loki is a great example. He has won the hearts of many even if he is the villain of the story. I think it is easy to sympathize with him because he was wronged and had intentions that people can relate with. He just wanted Odin to see that he was capable of ruling (what else do you expect when you tell both your sons they were meant to rule?). Deep down, he was looking for affirmation from his father, and since most people have felt overlooked at some point in their lives, they can relate to Loki. At least these are some of the reasons I find Loki more interesting than Thor. The other reason is that his character always has something witty to say. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Certain villains do have that, je ne sais appeal about them which eventually caused me to bang out this post ๐Ÿ™‚ I often find myself sympathizing with the villain if they show their past – like Zuko. But Zuko, even when he was evil, had such conflicting emotions that i somehow knew he would turn.
      And yes, when you add stories in the villain’s life, which people often can relate to – the villain just gets a lot more interesting ๐Ÿ˜€

      And I also love the witty antagonists (and protagonists, but that’s wandering from the subject)! Anyone who can make me laugh ^-^

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey!.. This was a funny post. Well, I do agree with you. Villains do play a crucial role in a story. Otherwise, it becomes too boring!. Bellatrix by the way is a great villain!. Great acting by that actress. But yeah, she did do some nasty stuff… But that’s exactly what villains are for :P..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thankyou โค โค I agree. Bellatrix was acted out amazingly, though when she killed Sirius and Dobby and I found out that she tortured Neville's parents – Nuh uh ๐Ÿ™‚
      But yup, that's what villains are for, I should really stop getting attached to them when it's people like Bellatrix ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  7. I agree with you completely. I hated Bellatrix for killing Sirius, but I loved her because she was just so badass and cool. Other villains I love are: Sebastian from TMI and Clove/Cato from THG (do they count as villains?). Anyways, nice post. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know. Then Bellatrix was just despicable to my heartbroken self! Sebastion is awesome… I guess Colve/Cato are villains too ๐Ÿ™‚ But ah, President Snow – he totally creeps me out. And thanks โ™ฅ โ™ฅ

      Like

  8. Ooooh villains yes! I actually ran an event called “Villain Awareness Month” last October on my blog so, needless to say, I really love me a good villain ๐Ÿ˜›

    The villain makes the hero. Nobody’s going to admire a hero who didn’t have to fight a terrible battle that beat them within an inch of their life. They’re going to admire a hero who fought the nastiest, most powerful villain in what seemed like a hopeless fight from the start. And the key part of that is the villain.

    Two villains I’m thinking of right now are Moriarty and Magnussen from BBC Sherlock. I loved Moriarty ’cause he was totally psycho, always screaming at people and then talking in a sweet, civilized voice afterwards, and his power was thrillingly terrifying. But then I hated Magnussen. I can’t stand him because he gets into others’ personal space and is a truly repulsive character. And yet that’s why I love him as a villain. In all of the episodes where these villains featured, they were the ones who raised the stakes and forced Sherlock to act.

    To sum it all up, villains are awesome ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eeek! I though I replied to this. Sorry ๐Ÿ™‚
      Oooh! You had a Villain Awareness Month? Gosh you are so amazing. You have just earned my respect for future times. ๐Ÿ˜€ runs off to your blog to find out more

      “The villain makes the hero” You couldn’t have phrased that line better. It sums up what I was trying to convey through my post. Nobody admires the hero who didn’t have to fight the terrible battle and got away with an inch of their lives. Even if it is a battle within yourself, dealing with issues like death, grief, envy .etc

      WAAIT! How could I forget Moriarty? He’s like the perfect villain in the list of villains. And his voice – random, I know – it’s so wierd. It goes into so many pitches and just…AAARGH. I’m not very good at describing his voice, but since you’ve watched Sherlock you will definitely know what I mean.
      Just Moriarty: Link and this
      The amount of power he has…
      I hated Magnussen too. If there was one person I loathed, it would be him. How could it be fair that one person have this much power. Can I flick it?
      I’ll stop now. But, like villains, gifs are awesome too ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      • Haha well I’m honoured to have earned your respect! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Mm, yeah, the battles within the hero’s heart are such gruesome duels. Sometimes the worst villains are simply emotions–inner demons.

        Haha, yes, isn’t he great? Man, Moriarty said the weirdest things… it’s what made him so cool though, you never knew what he was going to do next. Oh, the flicking scene bothered me so much!

        Haha yes, they are quite awesome. And then there are pictures like this one: http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m12wvoCnwX1qjba3b.gif

        Like

  9. Villains / antagonists are “challenges” for the hero. A story where the hero faces no form of challenge isn’t a story at all. It’s just….bleh!

    Have I ever liked a villain? Sometimes. I like the type of villain whose evil antics have a plausible reason behind it. Those types, in my opinion, are the scariest!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, I’m so sorry for the late reply >.< School started!

      Exactly, the story would be so boring without someone to make things hard for them. We have to make the beloved main character SUFFER ๐Ÿ˜„ And yup, if the villain doesn't have a valid reason for their antics (even madness – some of the most awesome villains are psycho) Sometimes the scariest villains are the ones we can associate the best with.

      Like

  10. Yes Villians cna be cool. Where would Doctor Who be without the daleks? Nothing like a villian. But I think they have to be carefully written. To often they can end up as a clone of so many others, a pastiche of cliches. To me, the villian has to be interesting in some way. I recently read a fantasy book which had just such a one-dimensional, predictable, cardboard-cutout, moustache-twirling pantomime baddie that it was boring. He wasn’t even very witty. Also … yes a good villian can sometimes earn our sympathy and admiration, but they must not completely outshine the hero. Sometimes the hero looks bland in comparison with a charismatic villian who gets all the best lines, and that’s not good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • “one-dimensional, predictable, cardboard-cutout, moustache-twirling pantomime baddie”

      You couldn’t have summed up my criteria any better! And the Daleks do play an important role in Docter Who. The villain shouldn’t outshine the hero, but he (or she – sometimes the best baddies are females) has to be intriguing too. That’s an important aspect.

      Like

    • Thanks! It’s so terrific to know that my weird and quirky thoughts are actually understood and that there are fellow bloggers out there with the same thinking! And Bellatrix rocks!

      Like

  11. This is such a great post!!! I LOVE VILLAINS! โค Seriously, give me the bad boy over the good boy any day! There's just something so yuuuuum about villains! Chaos and madness! I really liked Sebastian as a villain from The Mortal Instruments, he was so sassy and pure evil (which I saw you added to your TBR list – I’m totally doing a full stalk of your blog btw hehe).

    Like

    • Have you read Kane Chronicles? Boy, now the villain Set in those books is just awesome ๐Ÿ˜„

      Yeah, madness in villains does really spice things up! EVERYONE IS TALKING SO MUCH ABOUT TMI, I’M SO EXCITED TO READ! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
      If you’re worried that you’re stalking, no worries! I love it when people stop by on my blog. And I can’t help but stalk blogs too. It runs in the family ^.^

      Like

  12. Pingback: Da Social Media Tag | Nirvana's Pocketful

  13. Pingback: Wherein I talk about New Years & why 2014 was Fabulous… | Nirvana's Pocketful

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! โ™ฅ

