Story Treasury

Stacking the Shelves | Showered by Awesome Books


STSmall_thumb[2][2]

This is my first Stacking the Shelves, and boy am I excited! Why?

I think you know the answer already:

BOOKS!!!

I took a trip to the library yesterday and I found a lot of books which I had been wanting for ever sooo long! Sure, I had the e-books, but nothing is like getting to HOLD the book in your hands and admire it’s cover in real life (though technically, reading on an e-reader is also real – not exactly a fantasy world now, is it? But I think some of you may know what I mean 🙂 ) And then there is also my not so discreet excuse for getting new books….Book sniffing. Maybe I’ll write a post about it someday!

Anyway, Stacking the Shelves gives me an opportunity to have an excuse for one of my random-no-reason-whatsoever hobbies….Book Photography 😛 And on the plus side, y’all can get a peek at my ever-growing TBR too. See? Two in one!

Books I Scavenged

20140913_111932

Untitled

So basically I’ve got:

 ♦ Hex Hall (Hex Hall #1) by Rachel Hawkins ~o~ I’ve heard some pretty amazing things about this one, from my good friend littleonionwrites, so I’m pretty excited (click on the link for her review)

 ♦ The Fellowship of the Ring (Lord of the Rings #1) by J.R.R Tolkien ~o~ I’ve been wanting to get to this book for so long. I’ve heard so many good things about it from awesome bloggers whom I frequent ever so often.

But, I shall admit that the size is daunting. But then, if I could brave the entire intimidating Inheritance Cycle (which though long-winded) was actually pretty good ❤

Though it seems like the book has either been read by a LOT of people – mind you I mean it 😀 – or the person just vandalized the book. How can they do that? Don’t they have a heart?

IMG_20140913_112359

IMG_20140913_112322

♦ Molly Moon, Micky Minus and the Mind Machine (Molly Moon #4) by Georgia Byng ~o~ Apart from being, like, the ultimate YA fan, I also happen to LOVE Middle Grade fiction. SO, that leads to me picking this book up from the library 🙂 Let’s see what I think of it…

 ♦ Paper Towns by John Green ~o~ I read this book ages ago. But I liked it. Really, really, liked it. Henceforth, I shall be rereading it!

hex

Gosh! Books really are my fashion models, aren’t they?

E-books

 YES, YES, YES! I’ve wanted this one for sooo long! Every review I read about this one, was just put in Fangirling Mode. People have been saying so many good stuff, that I’m tingling to just get started.

EEEK, I’M SO EXCITED!!!!

Throne of Glass, here I come XD

 Another book that has been recommended to me by so many people! And all of them in their fandom phase! Gosh, I’ve got to get to this book soon.

But it won’t be long, since now I have the e-book, so yay!

I’m so excited to read both of the books…

Yup! This feline says it all for me 🙂

My Posts this Week

I didn’t post much this week, like I mentioned in my last post becuase of one reason: school. The word can say everything for me. I’ve gotten so much homework, and it’s only my first week.

But here’s the list anyway…

  1.  On Psycho Moon Princesses and Her Ugliness — In which I compare Voilante with Princess Winter from Lunar Chronicles.
  2. Discussion: Villains are Awesome — In which I discuss if I’m entirely strange for loving the villains in books and movies as much as the hero 🙂 This one was fun to write!
  3.  Top Ten Characters you’d find at my Lunchtable — In which I chose all the people who would sit with me at my lunchtable. If only this was real…then life would be perfect….

I have been totally ignoring the artsy part of my blog *guilty* Sorry about that ^_^ . But expect updates soon.

My Wacky-not-so-Wonky Life 🙂

I’ve just realized, that keeping a guitar is quite expensive, what with my extravagant book-spending habits that really need to stop!

First there’s buying the guitar itself, then there’s buying a case for it, and then there’s buying a strap for it, buying picks, buying capos, and then there’s getting those ever breaking strings repaired…and, well you get the idea.

Did I mention the capo?

I bought one a month ago, but it broke in the first two weeks. So, today I got the best quality one! Go me 😀 I feel so good using it…

IMG_20140914_160935 IMG_20140914_161054

And, just for fun, I also made this maze for my little sister. It’s much easier to solve than all the effort I put into making it. But, ah well! Still looks amazing to me 😛

IMG_20140904_221658


And voila! That was my week, folks 🙂

Untitled

13 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves | Showered by Awesome Books

  1. What they should do with e-readers is attach a bunch of blank pages that can be flipped through and sniffed to the reader’s content. That way everyone except those who want thinner devices will be happy.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh my god, that’s like the most genius idea EVER! xD To me, thin devices really aren’t a huge problem – the thinner they are, the more easy it will be to damage it so I’d be happy! I’m not very good when it comes to NOT dropping things. I drop ’em when it really counts, lol.

      Thanks for commenting 😀

      Like

  2. Hahaha this was such a great post! I loved your pictures of books XD If I didn’t read everything on my Kindle I’d definitely take pics of all the new books I’ve bought! I’ve heard so many great things about Hex Hall as well, it’s at the top of my TBR list for the moment! When you read Throne of Glass (I love that book!!) and City of Bones you have to let me know what you think! They are both awesome series (except I did start to get a bit bored at the end of The Mortal Instruments… I think it’s because the book I read before it was so amazing). Great post and looking forward to your reviews for your new buys! 😉

    Like

    • Thanks Anna! 😀 When I’m excited to read I book I’ve been wanting to read for a long time, but it ends up being an e-book, I suddenly have this whim to photograph my Tab XD Just wacky, right?
      I’ve heard so much about both on like almost every book blog, so I’ll just HAVE to see what all the fuss is about! Yeah, I find myself disppointed with books, even though I might have loved them if I hadn’t read a mind-blowing book before them. I’ve just finished Paper Towns. Just. Wow. I loved it so much – much better than Looking for Alaska which was okay!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hex Hall!!! Woot woot! XD I couldn’t help but fangirl to you in a comment, teehee! I hope you enjoy this book. I still have to read the last one, and I’m SO EXCITED.

    I think I’ve tried to read The Fellowship of the Ring two or three times. During my most recent attempt, I only got three pages into the forward… sheepish laugh Probably wasn’t the best idea to bring this particular book on vacation with me. I ended up reading an ebook instead. D: I’m hoping that one day I’ll be able to read this book, because I feel like it’s right up my alley. We’ll see…

    I’m eager to read more John Green (because I’ve only read TFIOS by him), because I love watching him and his brother on YouTube. They seem like pretty cool dudes. 😀 I also have to read Throne of Glass (which I was supposed to read a loooong time ago), and City of Bones is a must!!! It was recommended to me a while ago, and I’m so glad that I stuck with the series. ^-^

    Anyway, I hope you enjoy all of these books! Seeing them all puts me into severe reading mode, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hex Hall! Eeek! I’m soo excited >.<

      I tried to read Fellowship of the Ring once before. But I made the mistake of bringing it with me on a holiday too high fives – when I didn't have much time for reading and would prefer light fast-paced and humorous books. So I guess it didn't get much of a chance from me, and I think that that was a bit unfair 😀 But I want to, though. So many bloggers who LOVE THE EXACT BOOKS I DO, like it. I'll have my own opinions – but at least I can say I've read it after giving my opinion XD

      Oooh! I've finished Paper Towns, and what I can say is that I absolutely DEVOURED it! It's amazing. You should definitely read it ASAP!

      Always good to know I made someone read a book (reading can only be a good thing…right? But some of my friends hate reading horrors of horrors) 😀

      Like

  4. Very interesting post! I hadn’t heard someone refer to “book sniffing” before, but it’s something I always do, haha..

    Also, thanks for joining Teenage-Blogger-Central (even if I am a bit late visiting you)! Would you please consider taking one of our link buttons? We don’t advertise, so this is pretty much the only way people can find out about us! : http://teenage-blogger-central.blogspot.ie/p/blog-page_27.html

    Like

  5. I also prefer real books to e-readers, but when you’re traveling the books just take up too much space in the luggage!
    I LOVED the Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit too. I watched the movies too and thought they did a pretty good job. But the movies are never as good as the books.
    I hope you get a chance to read it soon. Its amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ‘Real’ books are always the best. Nothing beats admiring the shiny new covers (and inhaling in the smell of new book of course :3)
      From the snippets I’ve seen of the movies, they seem to be great but I never really got the chance to watch them completely. The Hobbit was AMAZING.
      Thankyou ❤

      Like

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! ♥

