Story Treasury

Review: Hex Hall | Just O.M.G


5287473Title: Hex Hall (Hex Hall #1)

Author: Rachel Hawkins

Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It’s gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie’s estranged father–an elusive European warlock–only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it’s her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire student on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.

 

When I finished this book :

Me: *scrunched shoulders happy smile* I finished the book.

My Brain: That’s nice.

Me: THAT WAS AMAZING. I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My Brain: That’s nice.

Me: *suddenly downcast* B-b-but I liked Archer. And the book can’t be over already?

My Brain: That’s nice.

My Brain: Wait, what did you say. No. No. NO! It CAN’T be over. You idiot, give me the next book NOW! I NEED it. And now. Did I mention that?


Let’s just say that conversations with myself aren’t rare on this blog. Until then, bear with yours truly.

**No spoilers – minor spoilers like some events may be included, but nothing major 🙂 **

What I really, really liked about this book:

The Laughs.

Sophie was probably at the top of the list in the funniest MC in books. If you’re looking for a stitch in your sides, Hex Hall is the way to go. What with the witty remarks and ‘Standard Sophie Mercer Comebacks’ as Archer so rightly penned, I couldn’t a hold on myself. Even though some may argue, it was the part with the tattoos that mad me giggle the most.

The bit which had me up in stitches though, was the ‘I like your tattoos’ Oh god, YES!

And then, who doesn’t love a girl who yells “BAD DOG” when a werewolf is about to attack her?

I’d hoped to hurt his feelings, in the very least, make him angry, but he kept on smiling at me. “Actually it Archer Cross, and I’m the first one. Now what about you?” He squinted. “Let’s see . . . brown hair, freckles, whole girl-next-door vibe going on . . . Allie? Lacie? Definitely something cutesy ending with ie

You know when your mouth moved when nothing comes out? Yeah, that’s pretty much what happened. And then, of course, my mom took that opportunity to end her conversation and call out “Sophie! Wait up.”

“I knew it!” Archer laughed. “See you, Sophie” he called over his shoulder as he disappeared into the house.

The Diversity

A  NON-SPARKLY *smirk* lesbian vampire, a werewolf named Beth, dark witches the perfect example of the specific breed of high school girls – COUNT ME IN.

And then the Drama! (Did you notice the capital D? There for a reason 😉 )

I’m (usually –  you never know ) good at picking up those ever so subtle hints dropped at the start of a book. I guessed the secret identities in Cinder right from page 28/256 of the book. And successfully picked out who would betray who in Avatar.

But maybe it was me slightly loony from a fever that would be done justice if compared to the bubonic plague, but I TOTALLY DIDNT SEE THAT COMING IN THE END.

The End

*squeeeel* The end was awesome. Made up for the few flaws there were in the book!

Buut…

Angst — The book had everything, except angst. There were plenty of times when Sophie was pretty down. But never on the level where the reader is gloomy and caught up too. Rachel Hawkins could have worked on that, but if you’re looking for the type of book for a LOT of giggles and smirks, then Hex Hall is perfect.

The Meticulousity (NOT a word. If you hope to brush up on your grammer here, this blog wouldn’t be the best choice XD) — Hex Hall reminded me of a more urban Harry Potter, a blend of magic and witches and cute boys. But the world wasn’t as meticulously woven as J.K Rowling’s was. I wanted to see more of the classes, the lunches and basically how everything at Hex Hall worked.

BUT, since this was only the first book, I’ll hold back my judgments and wait to see how the series progresses.

Slightly cliched — Emphasize on the slight. Though only for one or two scenes. Because I promised no spoilery, my lips are sealed on which ones.


 

This was my first review! Eeeek, it was fun to write. If it’s terrible, I agree.

But I shall get better.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book.  It was light and fun to read, and I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book! And I ship magic xD

Da Verdict: 4/5 Bags of Awesome

A_Colorful_Cartoon_Burlap_Sack_Full_Toys_Royalty_Free_Clipart_Picture_100707-145917-842053

A_Colorful_Cartoon_Burlap_Sack_Full_Toys_Royalty_Free_Clipart_Picture_100707-145917-842053

A_Colorful_Cartoon_Burlap_Sack_Full_Toys_Royalty_Free_Clipart_Picture_100707-145917-842053

A_Colorful_Cartoon_Burlap_Sack_Full_Toys_Royalty_Free_Clipart_Picture_100707-145917-842053

 

 

 

So, what did you think of Hex Hall? Is it on your TBR? Will I love Demonglass?

11 thoughts on “Review: Hex Hall | Just O.M.G

  1. I had to get on my laptop to write this comment, because I could foresee that I was about to write a long one, and my tablet seems to always auto correct me on everything. But you wrote a great review! 😀 I’m really glad you enjoyed this one. I’m currently reading the third book, Spell Bound, though I’m reading it slowly on account of a bunch of homework and a reading slump. 😦 But I’m sure it’ll be excellent!

    Sophie is an incredible main character. I usually don’t like main characters, but she’s one of the few I loved. Her wit and humor is fantastic! Witty characters are life. xD I didn’t have to think hard to remember the tattoo remark, lol. That was a funny one. There were so many funny lines in this book. ^-^ Archer is just… le sigh. I like him. I loved Jenna’s character, too. She’s definitely a unique feature in this series. I’m loving the character development in all the characters. ❤

    There were some slightly clichéd moments, and some similarities to Potter (Harry Potter will still always rule the land for me xD), but I always have to remind myself that most book series with magic/magic schools are going to automatically remind me of the wonderful world of Harry Potter.

    This comment was wordier than I expected. xD But I hope you enjoy the rest of the series, and hopefully Demonglass will make a great impression on you. 😀 I look forward to your opinions!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heehee, long comments are my absolute favourite ❤ ❤ While writing the review, I was a bit nervous but I'm glad you liked it! 😀
      Sophie IS awesome! And I know what you mean by usually not loving main characters, because I read the Maze Runner about a month ago and I HATED the main character Thomas. Too whiny for me 😦 And yup, funny lines were there in the abundance.

      Yes, I've been reading so many magic books lately, and my friends are fed up with my HP references all the time. I NEED Demonglass. It's so hard waiting to buy a book! And thanks! xD

      Like

  2. BAHAH I loved reading your review, it was hilarious! “I don’t do teen drama” – amen, sister! I’ve just bought this on my Kindle, I’m definitely reading this one next! 😀 It looks AWESOME! This seems so similar to Demons at Deadnight, I need to get my grubby hands on it! 😄

    Like

    • Haha, thanks! 😀 It was a lot of fun to write, and I love it when one of my posts makes someone laught! And gifs are AWESOME of course!
      Quickly Googles Demons at Deadnight Woah, that book just has positive review after positive review! scribbles onto TBR

      Hex Hall IS a great books to read! Get your grubby hands on it NOW! xD

      Like

  3. Hello Web Admin, I noticed that your On-Page SEO is is missing a few factors, for one you do not use all three H tags in your post, also I notice that you are not using bold or italics properly in your SEO optimization. On-Page SEO means more now than ever since the new Google update: Panda. No longer are backlinks and simply pinging or sending out a RSS feed the key to getting Google PageRank or Alexa Rankings, You now NEED On-Page SEO. So what is good On-Page SEO?First your keyword must appear in the title.Then it must appear in the URL.You have to optimize your keyword and make sure that it has a nice keyword density of 3-5% in your article with relevant LSI (Latent Semantic Indexing). Then you should spread all H1,H2,H3 tags in your article.Your Keyword should appear in your first paragraph and in the last sentence of the page. You should have relevant usage of Bold and italics of your keyword.There should be one internal link to a page on your blog and you should have one image with an alt tag that has your keyword….wait there’s even more Now what if i told you there was a simple WordPress plugin that does all the On-Page SEO, and automatically for you? That’s right AUTOMATICALLY, just watch this 4minute video for more information at. Seo Plugin

    Like

  4. This book has been on my wishlist forever! Sounds like I need to move it up, I love funny books. (The books on my wishlist keep playing hopscotch)

    See to me no angst is a good thing. (I have enough of my own thanks)

    This was your first review? I couldn’t tell! 🙂

    Like

    • Haha, you should definitely move this book up your wishlist :3 (Don’t worry, mine do too. The crowd just keeps getting bigger)

      Very well 😄 The angst helps me out, actually. I’m worried for something or extremely nervous, so the characters worries’ drown out my own for a tiny while. (LOL, THIS SOUNDS LIKE DRUGS OR SOMETHING xD I’LL STOP BEING MORBID)

      Like

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! ♥

