Bits 'n' Odds

Well, I tried. I really did try.


Participant-2014-Web-Banner

It’s over.

NaNoWriMo‘s over.

And I failed. Pretty much.

I feel terrible.

Mah stats

SO CLOSE >.<

 

 

Sigh. Self-pity not working, eh? Well, I’ll write a short posts anyway, becuase that’s what I do when I’m depressed.

I shouldn’t feel that bad though. It was exam month after all. Studying for exams and then giving the exams themselves is perhaps the most tedious job in the entire universe.

But in the end, my education comes first. Writing plays a huge part in my life, and NaNo did mean a lot to me, especially this was my first. I was ready to give it a go with boundless zeal and energy. And that was when I realized something: we got our results in December…and with horror I realized that our exams were in November, and it was written in my destiny to fail.

A novel. That I planned to write in a month. Sure, bring it on.

But in the end, the book’s not becoming a bestseller. It’s far from being seen by humans,ย let alone publishers ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s only the first draft, the first many many many revisions. I can try NaNo again next year. And the year after that. And so on. But I won’t get to repeat 8th grade again. The results stay with me, and eventually affect my O levels.

Which is why I put my studies first and eventually did not meet my (puny) wordcount. But heck, my gloominess is gone, and I’m relatively less depressed – now that I’ve faced why I couldn’t.

~.~.~

Also.

If you’re wondering why I had been wiped off the face of the addictive virtual void also known to us more commonly as the internet, I’m so sorry.

Since you all know why I was absent, know I still won’t be posting for probably a week more. So until then, my blog continues it’s hiatus ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I’m halfway through City of Heavenly Fire. IT’S EPIC SO FAR. Post coming after my hiatus so YAY :3 How many of you like TMI? How was NaNoWriMo? Lastly, what should I read next?

Stay fab, lovely blogglings ^^

Untitled

 

22 thoughts on “Well, I tried. I really did try.

  1. You still wrote more than me. >.< For managing to get anything down during your exams, I applaud you! ๐Ÿ™‚
    (Anyways, I failed my first two NaNos EPICALLY. There’s always Camp as well.)

    CoHF!! flails ๐Ÿ˜€ Ohmigosh I know right?! ARGH THE FEELS. Have you read The Infernal Devices as well? In my opinion, they’re in some ways…better than the original series? shrugs

    Like

    • Haha, I did? Well that’s somewhat of a relief. I’m not the only one, lol XD Thankyou bows

      Yup, there always is Camp as well! And I can complete the draft in piece now that exams are up ๐Ÿ˜›
      OHMYGOD THE FEELS YES I haven’t read the Infernal Devices, but a lot of people have been saying something along the same lines, so I’ll be reading it soon. ESPECIALLY since my friends say it’s about Magnus as well, so Infernal Devices…HERE I COME!
      (Who doesn’t love Magnus? ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s funny how November is the month when every other month seems magnitudes easier. Anyway you shouldn’t think of it as a failure. You should call it the first step to success. A true best seller doesn’t necessarily sell the best. A true best seller is the one you feel best about.

    “Rome wasn’t written in November.” -Incredibly wise and good-looking unnamed blogger.

    You can repeat the eighth grade. Draco is pretty sure you can repeat any grade. Draco had a friend who intentionally did that because he loved school so much. He had one art credit left but he waited till just before the age they kick you out to get it. Graduation was pretty hard for him; he was crying on the stage and everything. Poor guy. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hope that sad story helped with your depression.

    Liked by 1 person

    • November, is by far the hardest month of the year. With studies and novel writing – and exams – stuffed into one whole month, it’s just too much! But thanks, I’m trying my best to complete this draft rn ๐Ÿ˜€
      I SHALL, BY ALL MEANS, LOOK UP THIS INCREDIBLY WISE AND GOOD LOOKING BLOGGER XD He shall not excape the scrutiny of my powerful mind!

      Lol, no. Nope. I’m not repeating a grade. Not happening! xD
      Aw, poor guy. I’m pretty sure that even though I don’t exactly love school at the moment, I’ll think of it as the good old days once I get a job. But I’m feeling relatively less depressed on my own behalf, so thanks ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • They should move all exams to April. Taxes and such.
        If you complete the draft right now that’s a major victory. Some authors die before ever finishing a first draft.
        If you’re looking that means it’s to late. He once evaded a undercover security guard who was profiling him. Honestly being young doesn’t make you a punk or anything like that.
        Imagine how tall you would be if you repeated. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
        No 9th will be great as long as it isn’t like a high school high school. If it’s a high school high school you’ll be a freshmeat and that’s horrible. What you’ll need to do is get very very lost. It’s super helpful. ๐Ÿ™‚
        No problem. If you ever need to feel even better Draco can tell you the story of the lonely sheep on a ship(don’t ask for that. It’s depressing).

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my goodness.

    You, my dear, are a champion!

    Just looking at how many words you wrote on day 19, and then day 30–that’s really awesome! I don’t even know how you managed to pull that off with studying and homework and whatnot. Man, and you got so close. That is an impressive feat!

    As for any of this “failing” business, I shall repeat the sacred words passed down by many a NaNo guru: if, at the end of the month, you have written more words than you had before, you have won NaNoWriMo. So congrats! Go celebrate!

    And like you say, there’s always next year ๐Ÿ˜€ Just keep on writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohmygod. That is so sweet of you ^^ Your comment just made my day!
      Haha, I tried my best the last day to get something out. I was this close, but not quite. But I guess, that the reward does lay in atleast trying, so thank you ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Yes…there’s always next year, and I still have the entire year before next November to complete this novel and shape it into simething read-worthy!

      Like

  4. You might not have won, but you did write almost 25k! That’s awesome! More than twice what I did. (The writing was only working for one week and then it left me again.) You had exams while writing 25k?! Now I just feel lazy… Yes, I know how it goes. I thought writing a novel was the hard part, but a year later and it’s still not fit for human consumption.

    I loved City of Heavenly Fire! I won’t say anything else until you’ve finished, but yes I was pleased.

    Like

    • I was this close >.<
      The last day, I just sort of forced myself to sit down and bang out some words. Haha, you're not the only one suffering from chronic procrastination. I might have hols for three whole days and I'd somehow find an excuse not to post, lounging about checking other blogs.

      City of Heavenly Fire was AMAZING. It had minor faults, but I found myself crying by the end and I'll say one word: SIMON ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

      Like

  5. Pingback: Guest Post: The Worst Types of Book Endings | The Little Engine that Couldn't

  6. I’m a super slow writer. If I was a room with several writers for a few hours with nothing else to do, I would have the fewest words XD I used to be kind of sensitive about it, but I’m okay with it now. I think it’s awesome you gave Nano a try. I’ve never participated in it, but I feel like it’s not important whether you reach a predetermined goal. The important part are the steps you took to achieve it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol, if I was in a room with several writers I’d find one who was in the same fandoms as me and pick a very flaily conversation with them.
      I think I’ll give NaNo one more go next year and see how I go. Because, in the end, it was a great experience, despite me not achieving the word count goal.

      Like

      • giggles I know what you mean XD Through fanfiction I made several friends and we all like the same kinds of video games. When Final Fantasy 15 comes out (if it ever comes out) there will be a lot of flailing Every trailer that comes out excites the hell out of us 8D Although we all started together in the Final Fantasy VII fandom, some of them like Supernatural, Avengers, Pacific Rim, etc. I never got into another fandom, so after I was pushed out of my own I started writing my own fiction ๐Ÿ™‚ My friend got me a book she loved so we could fangirl together XD It’s always more fun to flail with friends ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  7. You didn’t really fail. You didn’t meet an arbitrary (and ambitious) word count, but you still got a lot of words down and therefore a very good start on a first draft, which is the main thing. And your exams had to come first obviously. Good luck with the rest of the first draft, and beyond.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Bookish + Blogging Goals for 2015 | Nirvana's Pocketful

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! โ™ฅ

