Books and More / Rants

LET’S FANGIRL OVER CITY OF HEAVENLY FIRE (Come on, I know you want to)


I’m having trouble to string. This. Sentence. Into. Words.

Warning: May contain chronic fangirling and excessive use of caps. 

Remember how I said I was reading City of Heavenly Fire in my last post? You should 😉 Anyway, I’m done with the book. Actually I was done a long time ago but I’m posting it because  #procrastinationrules

CoHF was beautifully written in every possible way so this will be my attempt to write a post about it AND THE END OH MY GOD OH GOD THE FEELS AND I JUST COULDN’T HOLD IT IN ANYMORE AND THE SOBBING–

Okay, let’s properly start trying to write this rant.

Honestly, I shouldn’t be writing this post when I’m in such bad shape, but I have to direct my feels somewhere. So you shall suffer my gif-infected post anyway, like the good blogglings that you are 😉

 Gahh, MY SHIPS ❤

We got to see Sizzy: FINALLY ISABELLE FACES HER FEELINGS, HONESTLY THEY’RE ONE OF THE BEST OTPS OF THE SERIES

We got to see Malec: Just awww. It was fabulous. THEY GOT BACK TOGETHER. YES *-*

We got to see Clace: NEED I EVEN?

We also got to see a lot of character development in this book which was awesome. But there are a few big, ugly buts.

The new characters were meh.

I loved that Cassie Clare was introducing new characters which were also going to star in her new series, The Dark Artifices, but I somehow wished that she would focus on Simon. And Isabelle. And Clary. And Alec. Y’know, the characters she spent five books developing and making us love to pieces.

I just didn’t have patience for Emma. She was a sweet character and everything, but: I’m pretty sure that all twelve year olds aren’t this stupid. I’m one year older, and Cassandra Clare wrote her with the maturity of a pineapple.

However, it was a relief as we began to progress deeper into the book, she grew on me (it was really sweet that they became parabatai) and began to act much better, so all is well in world.

Somewhat.

***Umm,  now I have spoilers ahead, SO READ AT YOUR OWN RISK***

The Deaths

Jordan dies. Really, he does.

But the way his death was written, I ended up going like: what? That’s a death? There was a paragraph of fighting and out of nowhere Sebastion appears and he announces Jordan is dead.

That’s pretty much it.

 The ending ermahgod

I’ve mentioned it before and I’ll say it again. I might have hated City of Fallen Angels but CoHF was a huuuge improvement. The ending was so bittersweet and perfect. Getting an amazing conclusion to an amazing series was awesome – because let’s face it, not all authors can pull it off.

Also, the dreams that the demon showed them were just beautiful. How life could have been, if Valentine hadn’t existed. If things hadn’t gone wrong. It was a lovely insight.

And THEN Simon goes ahead and loses his memories. I just sat there in shock for a moment. No.

It couldn’t be happening. It couldn’t. IT COULDN’T.

But it did. And realization sank in.

And damn it hurt. And that was where the waterworks began.

        

Since I do not feel capable of expressing my emotions in words like a normal human being; gifs is me answer 😉

P.S Simon getting drunk was the best thing that happened to me since chocolate and that’s saying something.


My Favourite Scenes:

“Brother Zachariah,” Isabelle said. “Months January through December of the Hot Silent Brothers Calendar. What’s he doing here?”
“There’s a Hot Silent Brothers Calendar?” said Alec. “Do they sell it?”
Cassandra Clare, City of Heavenly Fire

~.~.~

“Alec looked down at the shattered pieces in disbelief. “You BROKE my PHONE.”
Jace shrugged. “Guys don’t let other guys keep calling other guys. Okay, that came out wrong. Friends don’t let friends keep calling their exes and hanging up. Seriously. You have to stop.”
Alec looked furious. “So you broke my brand new phone? Thanks a lot.”
Jace smiled serenely and lay back on the grass. “You’re welcome.”
Cassandra Clare, City of Heavenly Fire

~.~.~

“Isabelle!” he called again. “Let down your raven hair!’
“Oh my God,” Clary muttered. “There was something in that blood Raphael gave you, wasn’t there? I’m going to kill him.”
Cassandra Clare, City of Heavenly Fire


And on that happy note, it’s time to end the post.

The verdict: 4.5/5

It may have had a few things I would have liked to change, but it still blew my mind and it was just amazing.

Also, throw in your input about the book in the comments. I’d love to hear it ^^

Untitled

 

 

15 thoughts on “LET’S FANGIRL OVER CITY OF HEAVENLY FIRE (Come on, I know you want to)

  1. Oh goodness, I gave it 5/5 stars. I agree, it was such an absolutely stunning read! And YES, Clare shouldn’t have involved the Dark Atrifices characters in this because COME ON, they have an entire series dedicated to them and we will be reading so much more about them LATER we are here for CLARY AND JACE AND SIMON AND IZZY AND ALEC AND MAGNUS.

    I cried so much at the end, truly truly truly a beautiful ending for an amazing series that’s going to stay with me throughout.

    Like

    • It was definitely the best book of the series! Lol, I was just like ‘FORGET JULES AND EMMA, AND GET ON WITH THE OTHERS’ XD It was really good ending, despite everything.

      THANK GOD SIMON WAS FIXED! ^^ I would have truly died if Cassandra Clare hadn’t fixed him – my favourite character. But yes, the ending was spot on.

      Like

  2. OH MY GOD COHF WAS JUST AMAZING. AND THAT ENDING JUST KILLED ME ON THE INSIDE </3
    In my mind, the book was perfect apart from all the concentrating on the new characters. I mean, show us Simon. And Izzy. And all the others.

    Anyway, great post and rant ^_^

    Like

    • THAT ENDING WAS OUT OF THIS WORLD XD
      Ikr? We came here for Magnus and Simon and Izzy and Clary and all the others. The new characters are getting their own book anyway. And thanks ❤

      Like

  3. JFASKLD I AM SO GLAD YOU LOVED IT BECAUSE I LOVE IT TOO AND I CANNOT EVEN!!! SIMOOOOON!! I was pretty horrified and I nearly bawled my eyes out but they kinda fixed it…so that’s okay. Sizzy is my favourite. I actually never really liked Jordan/Maia’s storyline so I didn’t really care about them. Oops. And I agree about the new characters. I think Cassandra Clare was setting them up for their own series, but I don’t think the finale of a series is a good place to enter new characters. We’re READING because we want to see the old characters in action!! It’s just frustrating to have our attention taken away, right?!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    • Oh gods. Totally forgot ’bout this comment XD cringes

      Yeah, I definitely have no idea what I would’ve done if it was permanent. I would’ve DIED. [insert sobbing gif her] Waaay too attached to fictional characters, eh?

      Hmh, Cassie Clare should have just put in the new characters in a few introductory chapters or something. That would have worked xD

      Like

  4. I missed this post because the email thing always messes up yours. (I just got the top ten books I want santa to send to me post)

    I love that the characters finally got together and happy. I actually wasn’t feeling Clary and Jace though, they sort of lost their spark. I didn’t mind the new characters I just wish they’d been saved for their own book. lol @ maturity of a pineapple.

    I didn’t feel anything at Jordan’s death, because it was so underwhelming. I know the visions made Sebastian’s death so much sadder! Simon was the character who had grown the most and to lose all that! Drunk Simon was great!

    The only thing I wanted from this book that I didn’t get is more Brother Zachariah and Tessa. I guess I’ll have to hope for more in Dark Artifacts.

    I realize this is all over the place. Great post!

    Like

    • Oh, I’ll check it and see if I can fix it (that santa post was supposed to be scheduled XD lol)

      Clary and Jace were fun up till book three – after that they kind of got boring. The new characters were great, but I kept remembering that this is the last book and that it’s the last we see of Alec and Magnus and Simon and Izzy and Clary — so, yes :3

      I really didn’t care much for Maia and Jordan, and the bad death didn’t make me feel anything. HAHA, DRUNK SIMON WAS THE BEST. REALLY AND TRULY 😀

      I haven’t really read the Infernal Devices – but everyone’s going on about how awesome it is so I guess I’ll be getting to it soon!

      It’s fine – My comments are usually even more all over the place, so I’m all good 🙂

      Like

  5. Oh my goshness, I’ve missed so much! I can’t believe you’re done with this series! Drunk Simon was amazing, and I kind of feel the same way you do about the newbie characters. WHEN SIMON LOST HIS MEMORIES. I JUST CAN’T.

    Ahem. Malec was life, but I’ll always have a soft spot for Alec and Jace’s bromance xD I can’t remember much else, because I read this book back in May-ish, but I look forward to Cassie Clare’s new books ^-^

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad I started TMI. It’s definitely something that I won’t regret. Drunk Simon ROCKS!! OH GODS, THE MEMORIES BIT WAS SO PAINFUL >.<

      Alec and Jace were sweet, but I kind of realized that he wouldn't give up anything for Clary, so Malec it is! ^^ I can't wait to read the new Bane Chronicles book ❤

      Like

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! ♥

