Random

Book Tag: My Wondrously Never-Ending TBR


I’m literally banging my head in frustration here. WordPress decided to see how amusing it is to swallow up my posts, and DELETE IT. Ugh. Well, let’s type this all over again, shall we? *curses WordPress*

Anywho. Sabrina @ Books and BarkΒ has tagged me to do the TBR tag – and it looks really fun, so let’s do this!

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

At first I tried making lists. Along with chocolate and books, lists are life. And so I got to work, adding a book here, another book there. Β Eventually it got so long, and adding a new book I’ve seen in the blogosphere became so tiring, I gave up.

My next resort, was keeping track of the books mentally. Y’all know how well that worked out πŸ˜›

Finally, I found the gem I had been missing out on: Goodreads.Β Though I made my account a while ago, I only became active yesterday. And boy, is it helpful!

Is your TBR mostly print books or e-books?

Print books all the way – nothing beats admiring shiny covers and sniffing their brand new pages. But what’s a fangirl to do when her books not available in the shops? E-books.

I guess I have my fair share of e-books and print books.

How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

I depends on my moods. Which change every five minutes. Buuut, I’m pretty sure it looks something like this:

  1. Library books (Because, well, DUE DATES)
  2. Pick up the book with the prettiest cover and most interesting blurb. (TOTAL DISCRIMINATION, I KNOW XD *bows head*)
  3. E-books
  4. Unless there’s a book I’ve been really, really, really been wanting to get to, in which case all other books get flung onto the shelf. My adoring eyes only see that one victim.
  5. Go on another gigantic book haul. And muddle up the priorities. Again.

A book that’s been on your TBR the longest?

The Underland Chronicles.

I mean, another series by…wait for it, wait for it…Suzanne Collins? COUNT ME IN. I so want to read this.

I never really got the time though. I want to properly enjoy it, so I’ll be reading it at a time where I’m free; good luck with that, Nirvana.

A book you recently added to your TBR?

Throne of Glass, and To Kill a Mockingbird. I’ve seen such a lot of flailing on both books, so I should love both of ’em.

A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

I’ll do three, because rules are just made for breakingΒ 

22489107

12000020

16067008

AAAAH, LOOK AT THEM! *flails*

Stitching Snow just looks gorgeous ❀

Also: ONE MONTH TILL FAIREST, YES YES YES

A book on your TBR you never plan on reading?

The MagicianΒ (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #2)

I read the first book, and it was flat and boring – and I didn’t like the writing style. I don’t think I’ll ever be going to the second one, really.

An unpublished book in your TBR that you’re excited to read?

FAIREST, PEOPLE. AND WINTER. AND THAT NEW SERIES BY RICK RIORDAN.

A book in your TBR that everybody recommends to you?

I’ve seen a lot of JRRT fans in the blogosphere, but I never could seem to get into The Fellowship of The Ring – even though I’ve read the Hobbit.

Another would be We Were Liars, by E. Lockhart

Number of books in your TBR?

I would say that I have no idea, but thanks to Goodreads I do πŸ˜›

Apparently I have 136 books waiting to be subject to my bookish whims.


The bloggers I’m tagging are:

Β So. I have a Goodreads account! Go add me as a friend here. Shoo πŸ™‚

Untitled

36 thoughts on “Book Tag: My Wondrously Never-Ending TBR

  1. Sometimes I hate wordpress, which is why I always copy and past my book reviews.

    I used to write lists of books I wanted to read on sticky notes. I’d always lose them though. Goodreads is a lifesaver! Congrats on joining. πŸ™‚

    I chose random books to read next too.

    Yes to Winter and Magnus Chase!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, that should definitely what I should start doing from now on πŸ˜‰

      It’s only been a while, but I already don’t know what I’d do without Goodreads! Thanks ^^
      YES ALL THE WAY xD

      Like

  2. Haha I love your writing style! I seem to have avoided having posts deleted so far (touches wood superstitiously), save the occasional accidental opening of a new webpage in the same tab, followed by frantic clicking of the back button and then a huuuge sigh of relief…although as so many people seem to have experienced issues, I may start writing them in Microsoft Word and then copy and paste them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, thanks! ❀ Lucky you, then fumbles for non-existant garlic and onions Omg yes that happens to me too. I nearly have a heart attack when that happens, but thank god for the ever life saving back button, eh?

      I really should start doing that. I don't think I can bear losing posts – plus it seems like the logical thing to do, so why not? :')

      Like

  3. Usually to avoid this WordProblem Draco has another tab open with the finished post and have just the blog page on another so it will show up when it actually posts. So many wasted words before doing that… πŸ˜₯

    You should always judge a book by it’s cover. If a book was meant to be judged on it’s words alone it would not have cover art. Also a certain someone’s first real job was designing book covers for local authors.

    Draco remembers the days before he had a list. It was a time when he didn’t feel behind constantly or guilty for ignoring a Dance with Dragons in lieu of any other book. Lists are so life… 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, yup! I wonder why WordPress doesn’t have auto save though…or maybe it just doesn’t work with my computer? Oh, the agony. The sound of wasted words is heartbreaking sobs πŸ˜₯

      Cover art is literally the best thing that happened to this planet. My bookshelf wouldn’t have its one true admirer otherwise. AND THEIR BEAUTY starry eyed ❀ Really? You designed book covers? That's so cool

      Lists are definitely life. Nodnod.

      Like

    • Hehe, thankyou!
      Maybe I should give the Nicholas Flamel books another try… I did read it a long time ago, so my opinion may have changed over time. The concepts were definitely very neat, and my writing style preferences would have chnaged. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooh Ari & Dante is SO SO BEAUTIFUL! I read it just a few days back and I couldn’t stop crying towards the end. It’s just asdfgjk;’ Ahaha I used to keep track of my TBR mentally as well, but GR is the best way. I’m so glad that it exists.

    Nice post, Nirvana! <33

    Like

    • I know I’ve heard so many amazing reviews about it! Can’t wait to get started. Besides, though I might say otherwise, it’s the books that make me a blubbering mess that I love the most. Argh, THE FEELS ❀
      Goodreads is a lifesaver. I already don't know what I would do without it xD
      Thanks, Melanie πŸ˜‰

      Like

  5. Ah tags are so fun, aren’t they? Wow I regret not going to your blog before this…it’s so beautiful! Hey if goodreads says you have 136, well you’re doing good.
    AND WELCOME TO GOODREADS! Have fun getting addicted to organising your “shelves”, and all the quotes, and quizzes and listopia oh my gosh (I’m a goodreads addict).
    Aristotle and Dante is the most gorgeous cover I’ve seen as of yet, I mean I could stare at that typography all day. Really.
    Thanks for tagging me bdw!

    Like

    • Tags are definitely awesome. Aww thankyou ❀ I had a lot of fun designing the theme!
      Omg, yes I'm excited. It's really addicting. My sister already despairs with me stalking Tumblr and FB all day, so she just about lost it when I joined Goodreads xD And yes IT'S SO MUCH FUN. I'm loving everything about it right now!
      Ari and Dante has a fabulous cover. I wish I could find that font – it's totally gorgeous.
      No problem! Hope you can post soon πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I found your blog through your avatar on another blog as I recognised it as the dragon belonging to Christopher Paolini (whose name escapes me right now). Funnily enough, his last book is sitting beside my bed in my TBR pile. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Oh, you mean the Eragon dragon? Haha, I love the fact that you recognized it as being Christopher Paolini. Book readers UNITE high fives
      You should really read Inheritance. I found it to be long-winded, but it was still a great read πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. THRONE OF GLASS AND TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD flails. Yes. You must read. Oooh, any Suzanne Collins book would probably be good! ONE MONTH TILL FAIREST!!! It’s so exciting! And yes, read Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe- it’s so amazing and beautiful and GAH. Whoa, Stitching Snow has a beautiful cover. FAIREST AND WINTER AND MAGNUS CHASE YES!! I have a lot of capitals in this comment… πŸ™‚ Eh, the actual Lord of the Rings books I didn’t like, they were long… and slow… and kinda boring. The Hobbit was good, though! I shall add you as a friend nods.

    Like

    • I FINISHED THRONE OF GLASS AND OMG IT WAS AS FLAILY AS I EXPECTED ASDFKL;’ Seriously, I really need to get my hands on the next book. I would read Suzanne Collins’ grocery lists if I got the chance XD
      YESS one month till Fairest! dies Though I’ll probably have to wait longer since I live in the middle of a country which does not believe in the importance on new releases πŸ˜₯ woah, now I’ll really have to get to Aristotle and Dante!
      I LOVE CAPITALS IN COMMENTS πŸ™‚ Nothing beating flailing with another fangirl in the comment box. Capitalize away, my friend!
      Yay! nods vigorously in return

      Like

  8. Thanks for tagging me! I’ll definitely do this, now that I’m on winter break πŸ˜€ And lists really are life ❀ I'm a total list person. I don't know why. Oh, the Underland Chronicles was really good! Granted, I've only read the first two books, and I seemed to kind of be skeptical about reading them since they're middle grade, but Suzanne Collins never fails to knock my socks off XD

    I started reading the Nicholas Flamel books, but I only read the first two. I liked the concept. I loved how several different mythologies were combined into one book, because mythology is LIFE (cough PJO cough). But, the books were flat a lot of the time, and they didn't have to be as long as they were. But I really did think the concept was cool ^-^

    Great post! I'm excited to do this tag πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hehe, same! Nice to be on holidays after a month of exhausting exams πŸ˜€ I think everyone’s fed up of me and my extensive to-do lists by now! LIST PEOPLE UNITE!

      Hmm, Underland Chronicles have a lot of loves, so I really should get to it πŸ˜€ To be honest, I actually like middle grade books if they’re done right. Most of the time I end up loving them, but sometimes I’m really irked. Like in the Ranger’s Apprentice (which is middle grade), a fifteen year old boy seems to have the maturity of a boy of ten. So I think it depends XD

      Mythology is LIFE! nods vigorously Maybe I should give the Nicholas Flamel books another try…

      Yay! Can’t wait too see the post :’)

      Like

  9. Oh I totally discriminate my books and pick based on nice covers. XD I AM BAD BUT NOT ASHAMED. I want to read Stitching Snow purely for cover-love yesssss. Goodreads is a lifesaver. I don’t know how I’d ever exist without it. Glorious organisation!!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    • Haha, nice to know I’m not the only wrongdoer xD NOPE, DEFINITELY NOT ASHAMED. Stitching Snow is so prettyy – besides, that intriguing title is thrown into the deal. I’ve only been on Goodreads for like a week, but I agree about the life-saving part ^.^
      No probs! Loving the new theme ❀

      Like

  10. Pingback: The TBR Tag: In Which TBR Attack Mode Kicks In – allthingswordy

  11. Pingback: Bookish + Blogging Goals for 2015 | Nirvana's Pocketful

  12. Pingback: The TBR Tag! | Girl in the Pages

  13. Pingback: The TBR Tag: In Which TBR Attack Mode Kicks In – The Controversy

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! β™₯

