Writery Stuff

Beautiful People || I write books. You read them.


Today I’m linking up with Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In for Beautiful People: The Author Edition.

First time participating, but this looks fabulous.

*rolls up sleeves*

1. How many years have you been writing? When did you officially consider yourself a ‘writer’?

I actually started writing when I was a teensy weensy tot, writing my name in spinach Matilda-style. But I suppose you mean when I actually started WRITING writing. Writing stories. Books.

The average properly starting-to-write age I’ve seen across the net is 12 or 13. In that case, I guess I’m professionally starting to write now. (Which is true, in every sense. I haven’t actually FINISHED a novel. Hopefully 2015’s the year).

2. How/why did you start writing?

Really, I started to write when my dad told me stories. He was an absolute genius at creating worlds. For making memorable characters on the spot. For awesome humour. I had been born into a family full of writers, so I got my inspiration from him.

And obviously, reading – you knew this was coming. 😄 The fact that small printed words on a page ere a magical vortex to other world, these printed words made you cry, made you laugh…

I wanted to be able to do that.

Also because I loved binding my little chapter books and making a cover for them afterwards.

3. What’s your favorite part of writing?

Come to that point in the story where you stop the continuous plotting, brainstorming, abandon all sanity and just write. Write, and let the characters lead the story. The point where your story sails.

4. What’s your biggest writing struggle?

Getting characters and plot to turn out exactly as you had imagined it in your head. Ever had this amazing idea grab hold of you and just. Not. Let. Go. And so you sit down to write it down, but the end result is not quite as shiny as you had imagined.

Sometimes, letting the story be changed will be a good idea…other times not so much.

5. Do you write best at night or day?

Night. I’m a night person that way. Daylight, there are people hovering around, catching glimpses of my horrible first draft. Not happening, bro.

6. What does your writing space look like? (Feel free to show us pictures!)

Lucky you.

(I had to specially clear the clutter for this XD)

7. How long does it typically take you to write a complete draft?

HAHAHA NO.

DON’T ASK. PLEASE. THIS IS A PAINFUL AREA.

A few people actually finished Nano in about a week and less. I want to be able to type as fast.

I am most definitely not the turtle here in this case.

8. How many projects do you work on at once?

I usually don’t work on more than one project unless that particular project had lost its spark – in which case I’ll let it sit and work out its priorities.

Otherwise, I’ll sit down and write up a few scenes from that new idea, type down the plot and then go back to the old project.

9. Do you prefer writing happy endings, sad ones, or somewhere in between?

Somewhere between making a person want to curl up into a ball and wail to feeling like smiling faintly with little contented sighs.

10. List a few authors who’ve influenced your writing journey.

Oh my gosh there are so many that I cannot even list them all in one place.

These author though, have taught me quite the few things. Okay, maybe a lot.

J.K Rowling –> She is the one who made me start the fantasy-writing craze.

Lemony Snicket –> That it’s okay to have an out-of-the-box writing style.

Micheal Buckley–> That MG fiction can be awesome.

Rick Riordan –> Using mythology in your novels is okay, and myths can be given a whole new twist. Oh, and snappy humour.

Marissa Meyer –> That it’s fine to write of something completeeely unheard of, like a cyborg Cinderella in dystopian China

John Green –> That books can be really nerdy and funny and yet be really deep at the same time. Not to mention heart-breaking.

Sarah J. Maas –> That epic fantasy does not have to have a spine as thick as my TV.

Veronica Roth –> That human hearts are capable of being broken with the victim still surviving the ordeal. Barely 😄

11. Do you let people read your writing? Why or why not?

People? *gasps*

YOU’RE KIDDING ME. NO WAY.

Just kidding. I write. People have to read it at one point, so I don’t hold back.

But mostly it’s just with my writerly and bookish friend…or friends if I think it’s good. Which is not often. My sister is my handy editor and Candor minion. She’ll say what she thinks when it comes to my writing outright, which is a lifesaver and EXACTLY what I’m looking for. And sometimes the blog.

12. What’s your ultimate writing goal or dream?

To get published (Quite typical…but still my ultimate dream nonetheless)

To have almost anyone apart from the people I know read the book…IN PRINT.

SQUEE.

13. If you didn’t write, what would you want to do?

I’d be a professional food eater. FOOD. Or read books for a living (TELL ME THIS IS A PROFESSION. It has to be *nods*)

14. Do you have a book you’d like to write one day but don’t feel you’re ready to attempt it yet?

I would love to write a contemporary, but I don’t feel as if I could accomplish it yet.

15. Which story has your heart and won’t let go?

There’s one and ohmygod there’s magic and bartering with death and a room full of sandtimers and friendship and an upcoming war.


 

Now it’s your turn: what would YOU do if you weren’t a writer? What is your dream profession?

13 thoughts on “Beautiful People || I write books. You read them.

  1. Love this – your writing space is very beautiful. Also professional food tester YES PLEASE. (Let’s hope that it’s a real thing, eh?). If I wasn’t a writer I would be an editor, or a bookmaker or a scientist. Dream profession – I’m split both ways. If I follow my geeky side then scientist, and my secret dream profession is a librarian (cos it’s so freaking awesome).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, thanks ^^ I NEED NEED NEED this to be a thing. If it isn’t…there will be some serious changes around the world once I’m ruling. Bookmakers are really cool – especially after I found out Mo in Inkheart was one.
      Librarians ARE awesome!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh, you participated in Beautiful Books too! And ALL THE LEMONY SNICKET LOVE. Just curious, did you/your parents/your friends ever call him something different? I’ve heard both Lemonade Sticker and Lemon Persnickety and was wondering if it’s a widespread phenomenon. ;P

    Like

  3. Marissa Meyer has totally influenced my writing because her stories are so unique, and I want my stories to be that unique. I’m a huge night time writer, too. I HATE it when people peek over my shoulder when I’m writing or ask me if they can read my first draft because my first drafts are horrible and not for any eyes but mine. They are so embarrassing. The only problem with writing at night is that I have to wake up early for school in the morning, and my parents never want me staying up so late. 😦

    Like

    • Oh God YES. It’s so annoying when people have to peek at the screen >.< SAME. My parents definitely don’t allow me to write late into the night, but like some read under the covers, I sneak in my Tablet and write instead, haha.

      Like

  4. Professional food eater? My current part time job 😀 I seriously need for that to become a real thing one day and then I’ll know what my purpose in life is ahah 🙂 J.K Rowling and Rick Riordan are my faves too!!

    Like

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! ♥

