Animals / Random / Rants / Reviews

3 Mini-Reviews || evil pigs, pretty noses and other things


 

nirvanaamjad.wordpress.com

Classics?! No thankyou. I was hesitant reading these books.ย Literally ‘crawl under bed and peek out only until I’m sure they’ve grown legs and ran away from my desk’ hesitant.

BUT. Remember my ill-fated goals made at the start of year? Well, I think they may not be that ill-fated after all. Because, I really, really enjoyed them.

No, I did.

YES.

Little Women

This book didn’t surprise me when I loved it to pieces I had read this when I was 9 or 10 and ADORED it. So I had to pick it up and give it a reread.

In case you guys haven’t heard of it, I’ll fill you in on the details, and if you guys have heard of it, I’ll fill you in on them anyway because I’m that nice ๐Ÿ™‚

It starts off with the misadventures of four sisters. Beth, the musical one (oh yeah). Three words: she’s adorably sweet.

Amy. I like her maybe because she isn’t as perfect as Beth, and her attempts at putting on airs and graces are funny XD AND HER NOSE. Gods, such fretting.

Nobody cares about your nose, Amy. That doesn’t mean it’s gonna stop me from loving you though, fret not.

Meg – she was a nice elder sister, so responsible (ha!) but trying to fit in. I’m sort of neutral about her. While she was a great character, nothing really stood out about her, she didn’t have that defining moment that made me love her to pieces (Apart from her ill-fated attempt to make jelly. The jelly. Just. Wouldn’t. Jell.)

OOH. And then there’s Jo. Obviously my fave as I left her for last XD

Because a) She’s a writer. She wants to get published. b) She has a hot temper. c) She’s quirky and lively and freakishly awesome in every way.

She fulfills her duty of sewing and giving her hand in the household chores, and yet she stand out so freaking much from the girls of that time. She manages to make herself different. I love her. I love her flaws, I love it how Louisa May Alcott makes her a believable character.

(The only problem? I LIKE LAURIE. She should have chosen Laurie and no one else but maybe that’s just my biased fangirl self speaking.)

Animal Farm

So this book was about a farm of animals who decided to rebel against their evil farmer who’s neglecting them. They kick out the farmer and set up their farm with a government and everything. Everything seems perfect and like a happily ever after – nothing could go wrong right?

Nope.

There’s always going to be usurpers of power. Someone to exploit the weak…I shouldn’t spoil it on second thoughts.

Animal Farm was super short. I literally sat down, got immersed in the book and finished it in one sitting.

Because this book was mostly metaphorical, I liked it. I like metaphors and secrets (LIKE VFD ON A COMPLETELY RANDOM NOTE. Sigh.). But I like this book because it was deep, and because it showed the world as it really was. How things worked, and how there was no sugarcoating.

PIGS. EVIL PIGS.

 

Also, since we were reading about Stalin at school coincidentally when we started this book I was at an advantage. Totally acing this subject B)

4

 

I wouldn’t say flawed here. It’s nothing more than the fact that the even though the theme was explained beautifully, the book wasn’t…intense…enough as a few of my other five-star reads.

Black Beauty

HORSES.

Horses, horses, horses.

.,..at this point I think you guys should know thatย I love horses. (Okay. I feel like I’ve professed my love for a lot of things throughout this post.)

Thinking this was a classic I thought I’d find pages and pages of description and a very slow moving plot.

I was wrong.

Black Beauty was fast-paced, bittersweet and sad, and left me feeling like murdering carriage drivers from the Victorian era. The writing was lovely.

Horses are kickass and awesome and nobody says otherwise (ooh. ANOTHER LOVE. DISNEY TANGLED <3)

4.5

Have you enjoyed a classic? ย 0.0 Who’s your favourite sister in Little Women?ย Most importantly, do you like horses? Tell me all ๐Ÿ™‚

Nirvana A

16 thoughts on “3 Mini-Reviews || evil pigs, pretty noses and other things

  1. Ooh I love the new look and name, Nirvana! I love Little Women as well xD It is such a lovely little book–I do plan on doing a reread for it sometime this year.

    Lovely reviews, hun <33

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I still haven’t read Little Women! It’s been on my to-read list for aaages, but something shiny always distracts me. ๐Ÿ˜€ I can’t remember if I’ve read Black Beauty or not (I think I might have seen the movie as a child??), but I used to read a lot of horse books when I was younger. One series was about this group of girls in Virginia (I can’t remember the name of the series) and the other one was about a horse called Bolt (I’ve I had to venture a guess, I’d say it was probably called Bolt :D). And yes, I’ve definitely enjoyed classics! I think the most recent one I read was To Kill A Mockingbird.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yess, I feel you. I always have to read goals for myself, but I think this is one of the few times that I actually succeeded in fulfilling them. Most of the time I move back to YA XD

      Yayy for horse books! The Bolt book rings a bell (oh gosh I can’t remember the name either. I’ll have to look it up. I NEED NEED NEED to get to TKaM. So many positive things said about it :3

      Like

  3. Oh, good on you for tackling classics! I…I really hate reading classics. I find I get bored and lost and I like to read fast, so the older style language really bugs me. *sigh* BUT STILL. I do try. My favourite classics are ones like Alice in Wonderland and Peter Pan. XD I liked The Time Machine by Wells and…ohhh, I think I read Black Beauty once upon a time?! I LIKE HORSES.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    • I LIKE HORSES TOO. Ehehehe, the classic reading thing is the only time I actually succeeded with the goals I set for myself. The long descriptions and dialogue are hard to get used to xD

      Anytime โค

      Like

  4. Tragically, I don’t like horses and I haven’t read either Black Beauty or Little Women, although they both sound good! I didn’t really like Animal Farm, though, but that was a few years ago when I read it, before I formally learned about Marxism. We’ll see what happens.

    Like

    • Hmmm, maybe opinion changes with time…? ๐Ÿ˜› I think you’ll like Little Women, but then it is a classic so the dialogue/descriptions can get too long. I always feel like turning back to the shiny YA books on my shelf XD

      Like

  5. I’ve had to read animal farm at two different schools. It’s okay, but if you ask me it’s more of a political comment and lacks much plot, since it basically just mirrors the Russian Revolution in the early 20th century (and off topic, but yesterday at school we had a 1 point bonus quiz on being able to draw the facial hair of Marx, Lenin and Stalin. I gave up and gave Lenin a goatee) . I started to read black beauty when I was 8 or 9, but I only got to his second home, with a horse called ginger. And I loved little women when I read it a few years ago. Amy was so funny. Have you watched the March Family Letters? Also, I’m reading Jane Eyre right now, which is a bit confusing but so good ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Wait. WHAT?! You actually had a test on drawing the facial hair of historical figures ๐Ÿ˜‰ That is weird and cool at the same time. My school sucks and unfailingly provides boring essays to write >.<

      Ooh I need to watch the film, but I just can't seem to get the time what with exams and Elementary which I just started ๐Ÿ˜€

      P.S I totally forgot about this comment! Sorry for the late reply…

      Like

    • JO AND LAURIE WERE MEANT TO BE :((( Jo is definitely the best!

      Aww, thankyou for the award โค It means the world to me. I'm not posting awards nowadays, but I'll see when I get to it.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! โ™ฅ

