Bits 'n' Odds

When books and songs do weird things to me…


BOOKIE

Apologies for vanishing off the face of the planet. Really. I feel like I should have some explanation for my huuuge period of absence. But I don’t because I’m a terrible person who has no one to blame but herself for that. πŸ˜›

So you know how people say how they love to listen to music while reading/writing?

Music never works for me while reading.

Too distracting.

I LOVE books. I LOVE songs. Just not together. I want to witness the sheer fabulosity of said works and enjoy to them to their utmost potential (or until my sister tells me to stop making squeaking noises).

But that’s not what not I want to say.

It’s that songs are freakishly awesome and somehow are a timeline of whatever book I was reading at that time.

Sounds crazy? Allow me to elaborate.

It’s just that my brain is weird, but I am obsessed with one song or another at the period of time while obsessed with something. Books. TV shows. Summer nights Β Anything. So years afterwards I can tell you what book I was reading at the time when I listened to that song. Like a timeline.

I can literally recite in order like a hundred songs and books like this. Don’t tempt me. πŸ˜‰

Like now I somehow think of The Book Thief whenever I listen to I Know Places by Taylor Swift. It’s weird. Totally non-related. But it’s become kind of like a theme song for that book.

With each songs I’ll listen to even a year, I’ll somehow be able to tell you what fandom I was super obsessed with.

I’ve probably taken like a thousand Inkheart quotes and made y’all endure them in my posts (It’s just that I’m a tiny bit obsessed with that book. Just a little bit.) but I’ll put in another one because it’s beautiful.

β€œIsn’t it odd how much fatter a book gets when you’ve read it several times?” Mo had said…”As if something were left between the pages every time you read it. Feelings, thoughts, sounds, smells…and then, when you look at the book again many years later, you find yourself there, too, a slightly younger self, slightly different, as if the book had preserved you like a pressed flower…both strange and familiar.” INKHEART

Β What song have you been obsessed with lately? Does this ever happen to you? How do you associate books with music? Tell all!

For me it’s Wonderland by Taylor Swift (I’m even listening to it right now) It’s like a 2 in 1 package of happiness; T.S. AND ALICE IN WONDERLAND WHICH IS BASICALLY LOVE ❀

Nirvana A

21 thoughts on “When books and songs do weird things to me…

  1. I like to listen to classical music but not music with words when I read. I love anything baroque (though it isn’t so fun if you are a viola player like me) I currently love Say all I need by One Republic and cat stevens and tracey chapman are also fabulous. Some people have book playlists- I have homework playlists, which is mostly the royal philharmonic orchestra playing Abba. Do you play in a band/ orchestra/ ensemble?
    -Shanti ❀

    Like

    • Music with lyrics distracts while I’m reading, but soundtracks and instrumentals are AMAZING. I love One Republic’s songs ❀ Yeah, I have homework playlists but that's only as logn as my parents don't notice πŸ˜› They think that music during homework distracts me.

      No, I don't play in an orchestra or band, but I do play the guitar πŸ™‚ Sometimes the piano, but I enjoy stringed instruments better lol.

      Like

  2. I think I get you on the whole books/music dilemma. I used to find music distracting, then I found that listening to instrumental was nice, and now I can pretty much listen to anything. πŸ˜› I’m just really good at blocking out stuff…?
    Lauren Aquilina’s Sinners & Broke are PERFECT for Chaolena Throne of Glass for me. I don’t really have a favourite song, but at the moment I’m loving Youth by Daughter. ❀ THE LYRICS AND THE DRUM BIT! I just can't even asfjkl

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love instrumentals while reading – lyrics are really distracting though. Lol, maybe you are πŸ˜› Like Sherlock once said, he was really good at putting Mrs Hudson on semi-permanent mute (on second thoughts, that was really random)

      Sinners is AMAZING, and now that you mention ohmygosh it’s perfect for Choleana ❀ I haven't heard Broke but it's definitely going on my playlist.

      ASKFL YOUTH BY DAUGHTER IS FREAKING AMAZING

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t think that happens to me. For me, I usually associate music with a particular memory or moment in my life. By the way, I’m currently obsessed with Moondust by Jaymes Young.

    Like

    • Yeah, that seems to happen too. The song brings me back to the time when I was listening to it and a particular details just..sticks, no matter how odd it may be πŸ™‚

      I haven’t heard of the song, but I’m definitely adding it to my playlist.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I associate music with feelings, mainly. Memories for sure, but I don’t think I often associate them with books that I read at the time. For example, during august, i was in a “sad girl” mood because the song Amnesia and Iris were WRECKING me. I can’t remember wha I read back then, but I do remember those songs.

    Like

    • Memories and feelings ❀ It's strange how much a song can hold, how much it can do to you. Amnesia makes me die a little on the inside each time I listen to it. It's a beautiful song. AND IRIS omg. I guess a song can hold different things for everyone πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. I can totally listen to whatever when reading, but when writing, ALL LYRIC STUFF MUST LEAVE. Just so hard to concentrate. One song I’ve been obsessed with lately is “On the Ground” by Rubblebucket (gosh I love that song) or “The Reckless and the Brave” by All Time Low.

    Like

  6. Some songs come to mind when I read books ^^ Style by Taylor Swift makes me think of Wolf and Scarlet from The Lunar Chronicles. Sugar by Maroon 5 is a lot like Captain Thorn and Cress from the Lunar Chronicles as well XD so I get where you’re coming from!

    Like

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! β™₯

