In which I flail over fictional characters

7 Reasons Why Johnlock Needs to be Canon


I have a lot of ships, period. I end up flailing a lot over people that don’t exist, sobbing at a computer screen, take short two second breaks from my computer when the feels get too much. Eh, normal fangirl things.

But the best part?

Shipping.

^Yes, thank you for those wise words. Everyone ships people.

And no, I don’t mean Fed Ex and smuggling humans in boxes onto ships – as much as my friends might say otherwise.

And now, I will attempt to show you why Johnlock is possibly one of the most adorable ships ever, and also possibly because I’m dying for Season 4, annnnd why marathoning TV shows counts as exercise* John and Sherlock didn’t get much air time (Oh gosh. Nine episodes, don’t remind me u.u) BUT BUT BUT. There is hope, right? Johnlock needs to be a thing.

*What do you mean it ain’t exercise? Pfft, everyone knows I’m a healthy obsessive introverted fangirl who believes internet is her oxygen.

And now, onto the reasons.

1. Sherlock in a Nutshell

Sherlock: “Hello, John. I appreciate the interest but I do hope you know that I consider myself married to my work”

Sherlock:Would you care to join my work?”

i’m sORRY BUT THIS IS ENOUGH PROOF FOR ME ‘NUFF SAID.

Almost chibi-Sherlock fanart. #soznotzoz

2. Sherlock corrects everyone. Freaking everyone.

It drives him crazy not to. Details, facts, their numbers, cake. But I love it how he conveniently ignores this minor and completely insignificant fact in every way when people assume John and him are a couple. I mean, nope, nothing wrong about that ^_^

Angelo: *ignores John* Angelo: “I’ll get a candle for the table. More romantic.” *Sherlock says nothing*

3. John killed someone. For a man he met? Yesterday.

I’m not sure if it a was one day ago, or two days, but taking a life? Killing someone is serious.

And John was willing to do this, because for a horrible moment he thought that Sherlock was going to die. He shot the cabbie for Sherlock. For Sherlock. To save Sherlock. And that shows that even for the short amount of time he had known him, he trusted him. Enough to take a life.

NOW HOW IS THAT NOT SHIP-WORTHY MY FRABJOUS FIENDS?

4. Just got one.

4. Counting the Texts

JUST LOOK AT WHAT I FOUND ON TUMBLR

But do you realize the sheer extent of John’s jealousy in ASiB? Irene started texting Sherlock on September 15, according to John’s blog. She stopped at Christmas. That’s just over 100 days worth of texting.

During that span of time, John counted every single one of the texts he heard her send. He kept that mental tally going for over three months. For no one’s benefit. And he wanted to know if Sherlock replied.

Also, consider that 57 texts over a span of 3 months amounts to around 0.56 texts per day, which actually isn’t all that much tbh.

And yet…”YOU’VE TEXTED HIM A LOT.”

John. Honey. Son. Sweetheart.

~check out their tumblr. It’s really cool 🙂

0.56 texts per day.

I can’t. I really can’t.

5. Nothing’s better than being loved by someone who hated everyone.

Not everyone everyone. But most people.

6. Heart eyes Sherlock.

1372804_1623356237901659_1213778918_n 11292805_1623356234568326_667073905_n 11421470_1623356227901660_1492594441_n 11349937_1623356224568327_1064587270_n

 

C’mon, he’s being obvious here XD

7. Gahh, I need this askdlf

I realize we’re no where near Season 4 and this just came up out of the blue, but I needed to share my excessive feeling with someone, anyone. Benedict’s son will be going to college by the time we get the next season. *wipes away lone tear*

I will still go down with this ship. SO MANY REASONS.

SO, DO ANY OF YOU SHIP JOHNLOCK? ANY SHIPS ON BBC SHERLOCK? WHAT TV SHOWS HAVE YOU BEEN RECENTLY INTO? FOR ME, IT’S PRETTY LITTLE LIARS.  sHERLOCK STILL REMAINS MY GO-TO COMFORTER THOUGH. ANNNDDD. I’M BACK FROM NON-BLOGGING EXISTENCE ❤ COMMENT!

23 thoughts on “7 Reasons Why Johnlock Needs to be Canon

  1. SHERLOCKKKK *sobs* this show. I can’t. I love your reasons ❤ I'm still kinda on the fence about JohnLock, but your post has swayed me a bit xD I loved Irene and Sherlock–I actually just watched that episode with my mom.

    I've been loving Everybody Loves Raymond and Melissa & Joey. I also started watching Once Upon A Time ^-^ Great post, Nirvana!

    Like

    • THIS SHOW. *wipes away tear* I didn’t ship Johnlock at first, but it grew on me, y’know. I don’t know, it happens when you rewatch each episode four times (sliiiightly obsessed.)

      Ooh, that sounds amazing. Haha, if I showed that episode to my mom, she would probably peg it as inappropriate *cringes* BUT, she’s been loving the show too. Thanks :’)

      Like

  2. That’s an EXCELLENT use of the Moriarty gif. And ooh, nice point about Sherlock ignoring Angelo’s “mistake”. Although I’m not sure about 3, because I suppose being in the army, you naturally are willing to kill for brothers-in-arms. Maybe? MAYBE NOT. And counting the texts is definitely rather obsessive, although one might explain that by John just being a protective mama bear. I really like the character of Mary Morstan in the show, so I don’t want her to die, but if they handled the separation between John and Mary well? I’D SHIP IT.

    P.S.: Sorry about the Blogger commenting issue! Did the bug happen for just using the Name/URL option? And would Disqus maybe be easier?

    Like

    • Ooh, good point. Being a soldier would definitely make that part of his instincts – willing to shoot a criminal. Hahah, John is completely a protective mama bear. I CAN IMAGINE THAT.

      I really don’t want Mary to die either. I don’t know, there’s something about her which just makes you love her? Oooh, like the time she was thumbs-upping both John and Sherlock and just trying to get them to solve a case together? It was hilarious XD BUT I DON’T SEE WHAT ELSE TO DO. *heartless smile/cringe*

      Hmm, I’ll check Disqus. Maybe it was just my internet connection, lol.

      Like

  3. You are hilarious! I love your enthusiasm and constant flailing because I UNDERSTAND YOU. No, I don’t watch Sherlock (please don’t eat me), but I WILL ONE DAY. My friends are incredibly crazy about it, and I think I’m the only one who hasn’t read it yet. But I’ll get to it sooooon. Anyway, I love how you ship Johnlock. Shipping characters like FedEx is fun, right? ❤

    Like

    • Hahah, thankyouuu ^^ WATCH IT *casually points knife towards throat*

      I’M KIDDING. You’ll love the cases and the mysteries. It’s really cool. Get to it, then we’ll fangirl together, okay? 😛

      Shipping characters is totally FedEx. Thanks for stopping by ❤

      Like

  4. Oooh you’re back! where were you? (I was starting to come up with conspiracy theories) I kinda ship john lock…. hmmm yeah I actually do. But then john did get married (I never liked mary that much, especially when it turned out she was such a liar) anyway, nice post. And the next Sherlock season Has To come out! that is all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Conspiracy theories? 😉 I’d love to hear them (a̶s̶ ̶m̶u̶c̶h̶ ̶a̶s̶ ̶I̶’̶d̶ ̶l̶o̶v̶e̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶h̶a̶v̶e̶ ̶a̶ ̶l̶i̶f̶e̶ ̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶i̶t̶ ̶t̶u̶r̶n̶s̶ ̶o̶u̶t̶ ̶iI ̶w̶a̶s̶ ̶b̶u̶s̶y̶ ̶d̶o̶m̶i̶n̶a̶t̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶w̶o̶r̶l̶d̶ ̶o̶r̶ ̶s̶o̶m̶e̶t̶h̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶n̶o̶t̶ ̶d̶o̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶h̶o̶m̶e̶w̶o̶r̶k̶)

      I NEED THE NEXT SEASON.

      Like

  5. SHERLOCK eep I have so many feelings! ❤ Though it's been a while since I (re)watched them. Maybe I need to do that… like the tumblr conspiracy theories don’t keep me busy haha.
    Idk if they’ll make it canon, because the BBC sorta sucks at diversity, but there are so many shippers that it’s basically almost there already.
    YAY YOU’RE BACK! 🙂 *throws confetti*

    Like

    • T̶h̶a̶t̶’̶s̶ ̶w̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶t̶u̶m̶b̶l̶r̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶o̶r̶i̶e̶s̶ ̶a̶r̶e̶ ̶h̶e̶r̶e̶ ̶f̶o̶r̶. I’ve been literally scrolling through Tumblr conspiracy theories for over an hour now. I need a life >.<
      Tbh you're probably right so I'm just gonna curl up into a ball and hope they do.
      THANKYOU. *offers cake*

      Liked by 1 person

  6. THIS POST OMG. I… ship Johnlock but I don’t want it be canon, I guess? It’s complicated. Like, I would have awkwardly flailed for days on end if they were a thing but omg Mary is just SO FREAKING AWESOME as long as she doesn’t shoot the important people. But I do love John and Sherlock’s friendship in the show sooo much! Awesome post, as always. 😀

    Like

    • John and Sherlock look adorable together….but let’s face it, if Johnlock did happen it would be sliiiightly awkward lol. MARY IS FREAKING AMAZING ESPECIALLY WHEN I FOUND OUT ABOUT HER OTHER IDENTITY. Especially since if there’s going to be a baby is Season 4 and we’ll see Sherlock showing him/her murder pics and just being awkwardly sweet and protective omg.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I totally get why people ship Johnlock, I just can’t think of a good reason why someone would be mean enough to ship someone with Sherlock. I can’t imagine anything more painful! XD I mean, good character, but from what I’ve seen in the series so far (and by that I mean all three seasons) he’d be a bad lover. I couldn’t torture someone in that way. XD I totally see your evidence, though… I’m just not sure that it’s how I would do it, lol. Thanks for stopping by Sometimes I’m a Story!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. OMg. THOSE LAST PICTURES THOUGH. afjdklas You will not find me denying that I think Sherlock is feeling something more. I guess, though, John is married??? So??? YES. I don’t usually make any non-canon ships, tbh, but this is one that seems fairly obvious and I’m curious as to why the show seems adamant at rebuffing it at the same time as encouraging it?? There are so many “oh you’re a couple” quips! And you’re right: SHERLOCK NEVER SAYS NOPE XD

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! ♥

