In which I link up

Loony Blurbs: June Edition // In which I’m super punctual.


loony-blurbs-again-300x225

I think I’ve shed a whole new light onto “It’s never too late to try.” The last day *cue cringe* Yes, I’m a horrible procrastinator.

I’m linking up with Emily @ Loony Literate for Loony Blurbs, which is basically where you make up a blurb for a book yourself, based on ONLY the title.

The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore

the weight of feathersMarie’s messed up, and she knows it. Suddenly all of the birds in Lystra are raining from the sky, their feathers weighing a thousand tonnes. There’s only so much a spell can go wrong. And if she doesn’t fix it, the world as we know will fall apart. And certainly be bird-less by the end of it.

And how can she fix it? By picking up one of those feathers. And the only way she’ll be able to pick one up? To fall in love. Or to hire a crane because there’s no way she can handle the weight of those feathers on her own.

Her options don’t look too good.

And if she doesn’t fix it in 31 days, well, the Welfare for Fowls department will have someone to take their wrath out on.

A Darker Shade of Magic by Victoria E. Scwab

a darker shade of magicVictoria has syntheasia.

Her brain has been assigning colours to different things all her life; words, letters, people.

What she isn’t prepared for?

Finding out she’s a witch.

One year in at magic training, and everything changes. Because suddenly magic takes on much darker shades. And she’s not sure if there’s a link between her disorder and magic, or something deeper.

But will anyone be willing to listen to her?

Pieces of Sky by Trinity Doyle

Trinity likes to eat. Camel hump soup. Sushi. Fried whale fins. Fairy wings. And most importantly, cake. Anything. Everything.

The king of the Kingdom of Sky is fed up of her. And putting up with Trinity’s abligurition is becoming tiresome.

So he gives her an option: find a way to eat a piece of the sky, or forget eating eternity.

The stakes are high, the sky even higher. Is Trinity cut out for eating the sky, and if so, will the ozone layer still remain intact?

Read this thrilling debut to find out.

The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

When it’s Career Day at Ockler High, everyone’s choosing who they wants to chase. Dragons. Goblins. Trolls. Ogres.

Big stuff.

So, it isn’t a surprise when nerdy Oak would like to chase something…tamer, and hang out in the library all day.

For him, it’s the summer of chasing mermaids and unicorns. To everyone’s understandable horror.

Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

Look up. There’s 10,000 skies. And Claudia has been to each and every one of them.

All, except one.

The Sky Story #9,999. She doesn’t know what’s wrong.

It’s been a decade, and still she found no way in. Until she realizes their doorbell isn’t working. Looks like she’ll have to unlock it. Join Claudia on her journey to find the key to the 9,999th sky. She’ll battle storms, wind spirits and who know what.

But most importantly, will she ever discover the art of knocking?

Anyways, these were my blurbs. Was I even the slightest bit close to the actual books? XD tbh, I don’t think so. ALSO. I’ve never read any of these either, but they’re on my TBR. Which should I get to first?

11 thoughts on “Loony Blurbs: June Edition // In which I’m super punctual.

  1. AHAHA, YOUR BLURBS WERE BRILLIANT. And this is such a hilarious feature! I haven’t read any of these books yet (though I feel like I should have at least read two of them — A Darker Shade of Magic and The Summer of Chasing Mermaids, both of which everyone has been raving about — but I haven’t), so I couldn’t tell you if your blurbs were right or not. But they sound pretty legit to me. 😉

    * The Weight of Feathers: Three words: WELFARE FOR FOWLS. I’m dead. (Also? The falling in love thing was nice addition. I like how even in loony blurbs, everything goes right with a little looove, am I right?)

    * A Darker Shade of Magic: This blurb, strangely, makes a lot of sense. Almost too much sense it’s scary. O_O

    * Ten Thousand Skies Above You: I’ve read the first book in this trilogy and it’s about parallel worlds, so I guess… pretty close? Lmao. I hope she learns to knock sometime soon otherwise the book will probably turn out to be a snoozefest.

    Loved this! 😀 (And thanks so much for stopping by my blog!! <3)

    Like

    • You should DEFINITELY give this a try. It’s super fun XD And I know for one thing that your blurbs will be fan no matter what. I wanna read them too, but unfortunately life has been making things super hard. *curses reading slump*

      Ahaha, YA always ends with a little luuuurve amirite? 😛

      I wouldn’t know, but I’ve heard it’s about Lodnon and superheroes, and I have no idea how a girl with a disorder cam into the deal xD

      Knocking is hard, and Claudia wasn’t born with brains so…? i guess not anytime soon.

      No problem ❤

      Like

  2. Everyone’s doing ADSOM for this round and all of them make me laugh so hard! I love the idea of magic art, though. It sounds absolutely amazing and I would read a real book about it, not even kidding.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Writing Wishlist | Quenching the Quill

  4. Pingback: Writing Wishlist | Quenching the Quill

  5. Greetings I am so excited I found your webpage, I really
    found you by mistake, while I was searching on Digg for something else, Regardless I am here now and
    would just like to say cheers for a marvelous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it
    all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

    Like

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! ♥

