Discussions / Rants

Reading Slumps are the Worst


READING SLUMP

I’m sure everyone knows exactly what kind of hardship in life a reading slump is (no books?) and why exactly we have to put up with it (NO BOOKS?!) and why it comes to us all at one point (WAIT, DID YOU SAY I CAN’T READ?

Yes, Merida. I know. I understand exactly how horrible it is.

Reading slump / riːdɪŋ slʌmp/: a state in a which a human bean is unable to read any more books, due to stress/life/or just because their brain decided to be pathetically horrible to them. (1)

Leads to a state where the humble reader is left rereading the same book seventh time over. (2)

Or live a temporary completely book deprived existance, characterized by the way the reader flings the book across the room, or bursts into a flood of tears because words are cruel, and even more cruel when you can’t read them. (3)

As much as I’d like to complain, I’m flinging the truth out there: I’ve had a horrible reading slump.

For almost two months now.

In which I managed to read only two books.

Fangirl. (obviously. A comforter go to because I am in love with a fictional character.) And Delirium. And that’s it.

Maybe it was because I was stressed out about the exams before school. Maybe becasue the only thing I could read was e-books and I needed to inhale a real book. But then came the summer holidays.

Summer Holidays:/ˈsʌmər  hɒlɪdeɪ/: A time of unrequited joy for the average fangirl, as it allows for crazy all nighters and binge reading, and way-too-unhealthy-for-you marathons.

And imagine when you suddenly…can’t. 

And a TBR list which really needs to stop growing even without my permission. I wouldn’t be lying if something like that happened.

And also because a tiny part of me was afraid to read new books too. It was horrible because I’ve wanted to pick up a book I’m super excited for, and waiting for almost a year, and then you’re afraid that your reading slump will spoil it for you. You won’t enjoy it as much. And you don’t want that to happen. So you pick up books at the bottom of your TBR. And they don’t work out for you. And you think you’re still not ready to pick up that insanely good book. And the cycle starts all over again.

But I’m freakishly tired of it, to the point where I don’t care now.

I’m picking it up anyway. But I can 678% assure you slumps are horrible.

What books/things do y’all use to get out of a reading slump? Spill all, so I can work my sharp incisors and eat another book again. And when was the last time you had a reading slump?

 

38 thoughts on “Reading Slumps are the Worst

  1. Aw, I AM SO SORRY. Reading slumps are the WORST UGH I totally agree. THEY SUCK. I had a reading slump RIGHT before exams started, but thank god, I got right back into it as soon as they ended. I hope you do as well. You should try doing that bookshelf tag. It might help. *winks*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw 😦 I had a CRAZY long book slump about two years ago and for like six months I just…re-read books? *shakes head* The book blogging community kinda got me out of that.
    Idk, it’s different for a lot of people but starting a new series and having all those books to read can be pretty fun! Such as The Mortal Instruments. Or The Infernal Devices, which I think I prefer. Or The Raven Cycle, but that’s a bit slow. The Lunar Chronicles? Red Rising? And as ever, my love for Rainbow Rowell knows no bounds. 😉 I’ll Give You the Sun is also fabulous. Okay I think I’m just recommending all my fave books now oops
    *sends hugs* I hope you get out of your reading slump soon! 🙂

    Like

    • Ooh, I feel ya.

      I’ve read most of these, like TMI, TID, or the Lunar Chronicles. Buuut, I’ll definitely give Red Rising and The Raven Cycle a try. (which I’ve seen basically everywhere XD) You can never go wrong with a Rainbow Rowell book. That woman is so freakishly talented at writing T.T THANKS FOR THE RECS.

      *hugs back* Yes, hopefully I do 😥

      Like

      • Yeah haha, I thought that might happen. I miss the days when I could get out the entire TMI series out the library in one go…
        TRC is crazily everywhere! And yep, Rainbow Rowell books give me life. 😛

        Like

      • Yasss, get all the TMI books in one go, and read them so quickly that in the end you can’t tell the events in the different books apart, because they merge into memories of crouching on my bed and reading them all consecutively in long summer days 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I hate reading slumps too 😦
    I take a bit of a break and just talk about books on Goodreads, Twitter and blogs, then I read I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith and a few short and/or serialised stories to get back into the swing of things. And drink lots of tea. That usually snaps me out of it.

    Like

    • I Capture the Castle, ooh, I’ll add that to my TBR~
      Oh, I think I’ve been spending TOO much time on Twitter/Goodreads/Facebook and other social media 😄 Oops.

      Like

  4. Ah that’s terrible! 😦 I haven’t had one in a while, but it was because I couldn’t get into a book, but because I didn’t want to DNF it (even if it was only temporarily) I didn’t pick up any other book but wasn’t motivated to continue the book I was reading either. At some point I decided I’d just read something else and put it back on my shelf for now. I think I was just lucky with the book I read after that, as it got me out of my slump! (I wish I could tell you which book it was but I don’t remember 😦 )

    Like

    • Oh, I feel you. I never want to DNF a book because…what if it ends up having a amazing end and it irritates me not to finish it. Like some notorious OCD, you feel me?

      Hmm, maybe I should just stick with some snappy and fast paced book. :’P

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh no! I’m so sorry to hear this 😦 Reading slumps are terrible – I haven’t been in one for a while, but I remember my first big one and it kind of felt like my bookish world was falling apart. My method was to go back to my childhood favorites – I reread Harry Potter and a dragon series I had been in love with in like 8th grade. I’m so comfortable with those books that it’s not like reading a new book; it’s talking to an old friend.

    Like

  6. Aww sorry to hear that! As long as I remember, I never had a reading slumps. Sure, there was a time when I feel like reading is a job, not something that made me happy, but I still could enjoy the books. I didn’t really have an advice to get out of reading slumps, but if I were you, I think I won’t be reading until I feel like I want to read again. Not sure if it’ll help, but I hope it does! 🙂

    Like

  7. My last slump began after I reverted back into my otaku self and after that I was too obsessed with browsing anime tags on tumblr to even pick up a book xD And I was only able to pick up a handful of books for more than half a year haha. So I decided to set my reading challenge low and I’m slowly catching up to my old reading habit ^^ My advice is, don’t force yourself to read. Because the more you force yourself to read, the harder it is to enjoy reading. (It has happened to me A LOT.) Do your other hobbies for now and wait until your desire to read comes back. It took me like 6+ months and last time xD Kasie West books did the magic for me and maybe you should try reading your something from your favorite author??

    Like

    • SIX months? That sound horrible 😄 And oh, I’ve definitely been spending wayyyy too much time on Tumblr. My life is slipping away and I’m sitting and staring at tags (and internally fangirling too XD) I’LL TRY SOME KASIE WEST BOOKS. Any recs?

      Also, Google isn’t letting me access you blog. Is it private, or is it just some problem at my end?

      Like

  8. I can totally relate to that! I had a book slump last year that last two months. Imagine this, by August I was 30 books ahead on my goodreads challenge… ocme November, I was 30 books behind! LOL. I was able to salvage it eventually, thanks to my rereading favorite books 🙂 That’s the advice I always give – go back to your favorites and reignite that love for reading!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Like

  9. I’ve never had a reading slump… Well i guess I’m currently having one cos I’ve been too busy to read much recently 😦 maybe reading some short stories will help? *cues shameless self promotion 😉 * I’m a writer myself, and I’d love it if you took the time to check out my small blog. Atm its mainly short stories and a bit of poetry, but I’m working on a novel (Prologue is on my blog). Feel free to check it out, keep blogging and have a good day 🙂

    Like

  10. I can totally relate to this right now. I’ve been trying to get through a 90-page book for almost two months already. I’m still halfway. It’s horrible.

    PS It’s nice to read your posts again. Haven’t been here for a long time. 🙂

    Like

    • Maybe you should move onto something new? Indulge yourself one some book you’ve wanted for a long time? For one thing, I know that slumps are horrible.

      And thankyou, I missed seeing you around too :’)

      Like

  11. I have just read ‘just okay’ books for the last two months and now don’t feel like picking up another one… What can I read that I just know will be good to get me out of this slump? 🙂

    Like

  12. Ugh, slumps are the WORST! I wish I had good advice, but I seriously do not. I usually power through them, because I don’t even know what else to do! Back before blogging, when I had slumps I would just reread The Hunger Games for weeks on end. But now, I have too many books that I “have to” read, so I kind of just make myself, and then eventually one of them breaks the slump (so far anyway! Knock on wood!)

    I had a mini-slump not too long ago, and I was worried. Emmy & Oliver broke me out of it, so if you’re looking for a book that breaks slumps… 😉 Good luck, I hope it doesn’t last much longer!

    Like

    • Yep, nothing better than having hundred on books on your TBR shelf but rereading Harry Potter/HG or any old favourite 😄 It’s nice to indulge yourself sometimes. And thanks, it means a lot ❤

      Like

  13. Awesome post! My longest reading slump was SIX MONTHS. Hahahahaha 😛 That was obviously before I started book blogging, but not reading for half a year (I realized) is really bad for me because I start to feel book-deprived and desperate eventually 😛 I hate reading slumps! They are the DEVIL.

    Jillian @ Jillian’s Books

    Like

  14. Ugh, I’m so sorry :/
    I was in a reading slump at the end of last month for about three weeks where I didn’t finish any books.
    But then I participated in a read-a-thon and everything is fine for now.
    Maybe you could try reading manga or graphic novels to get a bit of reading done to ease you into reading novels again?

    I hope you get out of your reading slump soon! 🙂

    Like

  15. Reading slumps are horrid. I only recently found myself sliding into one after reading only review copies for the last few weeks. Whenever I find myself in a slump, I always turn to books that I’ve been desperately wanting to read, but haven’t had the time. Now my problem is that I’m enjoying them so much that I don’t want to return to review copies until I’ve binged read my current series. If all else fails, I reread Alice in Wonderland. The silliness is usually just what I need. Hopefully you’re nearing the end of your slump now and pick up a few awesome reads to get you back into the swing of reading again ❤

    Like

  16. Pingback: // reading, breathing, glasses thievery, artistic attempts // | Quenching the Quill

  17. I do have slumps and when I do, I try to figure out why. Sometimes I’m just busy or distracted with other stuff. Sometimes I’ve read too much of the same kind of book and am feeling burned out. Or sometimes it’s because I’m looking at my Goodreads goal and feeling like I’m always behind.
    Some slumps take longer to come out of than others! Thanks so much for stopping by! Jen @ YA Romantics

    Like

  18. Ooooh this is about the worst of the worst! Slumps happen to me during bad books or simply when I get busy. Blogging and good books normally help me stay on track, though!

    Like

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! ♥

