rambles / Random

14 things to do since I’m 14


Born with the inherant urge to rule, is the urge to eat cake. However, at least there was a reasonable excuse to munch on cake yesterday because it was my birthday (!)

*does brief and joyous happy dance*

OF COURSE THERE’S CAKE. DON’T YOU FRET. I LOVE YOU ALL.

*hands out cake in all varieties*

So I’ve been seeing lots of posts going around like 18 things to do before I’m 18. Exceppppppt. Key word being before.

My sneaky way to cross the fact that my birthday is here already? eh, just replace it with since. Hence my list.

I’ll try not to keep these books/blog related for the sake of a change.

Onwards we go, blogglings.

1. Make a thousand paper cranes

I read Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes when I was a kid – about this girl dying from leukemia, and it was sad and beautiful. But I’m still intrigued with the idea of making a thousand paper cranes. And getting a wish granted on the 1000th crane (hey, the idea of doing that much is still pretty cool, right?)

Or a thousand lucky stars. Any origami done works.

2. Meet an author I admire in real life

Or not an author if it’s Ben Batch. I can make an exception if it’s Ben Batch. (Shh.)

The problem with this one, is that it is an extreme trial living where I live. Rick Riordan or Marissa Meyer or Rainbow Rowell (Oh my god, need I even start with this list XD) don’t just tend to pop in our country for a cup of tea. *sobs*

But I would give anything,ย all my merch, my heart for this to happen one day. Soon. Le sigh.

3. Catch a firefly in my hands

Again, super random, but the gist of this sounds really cool, y’know? Bonus points for this being a great excuse for my sister to drag me out of my cave.

4. Own more than 555 books

Okay, I was lying when I said not book related. But 555. I can live with that.

5. Own a kitten or puppy

And name it Benedict Cucumber Patch Jr. Or Tesco. ONE OF THOSE.

The hard part? Convincing the parental authority that puppies and kittens aren’t gooey balls of fur which pee on the carpet. No biggie. It’ll only take my like one or two decades, right?

6. Do archery at least once

Because I have dangerous hobbies. And who knows when the need may arise to shoot evil dystopian presidents who initiate killing arenas.

It’s very useful. *nods*

7. Learn the violin

I’M NOT EVEN GOING TO SAY ANYTHING BECAUSE THIS IS ‘NUFF SAID. There’s something so amazingly beautiful about carving music with a bow. Though my fandoms definitely do help. ๐Ÿ˜‰

8. Leave actual real size city treasure hunt for someone to find

Because it would be amazing to have someone pick the first hint up stuck to the window of a cafe/buried under a particular tree in the park and actually carry it out. This is actually part of my Camp NaNo novel.

But someday in real life too, maybe?

9. Be able to burst into rapid fire French at random moments

And not speak in broken sentences of trying to imply that I’m trying to enslave the known world.

10. Get stiletto boots

And dangerous stilettos boots with a two in one knife/heel so I can stab someone at a moment’s notice (hey, it could happen. I can totally see myself doing that. No?)

Esme Squalor or Isabelle Lightwood style.

Maybe a leather jacket with it too?*

Not kidding. #lifegoals

11. Bake an Apple Pie

Sponge and death by chocolate cakes are all good…but apple pies could work too? Mainly because pies.ย It’s never too late to have pie.

12. Finish a piece of knitting that isn’t a dementedly long scarf?

The title says it all, folks.

13. ย Anddddd, the inevitable one; write a book.

And maybe, hopefully, publish it one day.

14. Colour co-ordinate my shelf

Because it’s an extremely long and tiresome job, but when you’re done? The feeling of being the proud parent of all those books is the best.

I’ve actually accomplished this one. PICTURES COMING SOON. Should I do the Shelfie Tag?

And, that was my birthday bucket list. Although I suppose it isn’t my birthday anymore, since it’s midnight now. And now, what’s something you would like to do? Scale the mountains, murder someone? Tell all.

29 thoughts on “14 things to do since I’m 14

  1. THIS LIST IS EVERYTHING aah I want to do so many of these things myself! Paper cranes, yesss. If you start it, let me know – maybe I can attempt 1000 as well??
    GAH, I was just telling my mum about my secret plans to fly out to the States & meet all my fave authors at Comic Con but, like, turn out San Diego is super far away. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ My geography knowledge is approximately nil.
    A life size treasure hunt sounds awesome! This needs to be a thing. It sounds like the plot for a book. ๐Ÿ˜› And I second the plea for photos of bookshelves!

    Like

    • OH WAIT I AM A TERRIBLE PERSON, I didn’t wish you happy birthday in my comment! *throws confetti enthusiastically because all her comments are far to enthusiastic right now* *bursts into the happy birthday song*

      Like

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! *eats the cake* This is such a fantastic list and omg ESME SQUALOR. I understand that reference. Although Isabelle Lightwood is like MA HERO. Seriously how is she so awesome and deadly and fantastic?! Gah. #goals Oh oh oh folding paper cranes is so fun! I’ve folded over a thousand by now. Um, I’m juuuuust waiting for my wish to come in. SO YEAH. Hopefully that’s any day now. xD
    Violins are beautiful. *nods* But cellos are better. JUST SAYIN’ XDD
    And colour-coding bookshelves are insanely awesome. INSANELY AWESOME. You have to try it someday!! I can’t organise my books any other way. :’)

    Liked by 1 person

    • omg MUCH THANKS โค YAS TO LEMONY SNICKET. All hail his power. I ASPIRE TO BE ISABELLE LIGHTWOOD ONE DAY. One day. Soon. *nodnod*

      Over a thousand!? Man, that is some serious work. CELLOS ARE COOL ๐Ÿ˜„ Gayle Forman style, huh?

      And yes it looks fab all prettied up like that :'))

      Like

  3. Oh my goodness, I can’t believe this. ๐Ÿ˜„ I read in your bio (I think it was your bio) on the eighth that it was your birthday on the eleventh, so I made a reminder on my phone to wish you happy birthday on the eleventh, but it must not have gone off?! I have missed it. D: But, I AM SO GLAD FOR THIS POST WHERE I CAN WISH YOU A BIG HAPPY BIRTHDAY! ๐Ÿ˜€ I hope that you had an amazing day!
    This is an AWESOME list. Oh my goodness! This will be so cool to look at next year and see what you’ve accomplished! ๐Ÿ˜€ “12. Finish a piece of knitting that isnโ€™t a dementedly long scarf?” – YES. ๐Ÿ˜„ Reading that was like reading one of those justsorelatable posts. ๐Ÿ˜„ And colour coordinating your BOOKS! I have done this, AND THE BEAUTIFULNESS. I only colour coordinate my stand alones, and unfortunately, lots of the books I own belong to a series, BUT. ๐Ÿ˜„ PHOTOS, PLEASE. ;D Colour coordinating anything is a great idea. Am I the only one who colour coordinates her Skittles? ๐Ÿ˜„ ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    • AW THAT IS SO SWEET OF YOU โค It means everything. *throws confetti*

      Seriously, it's like I don't even need that many scarfs *shudders* DO YOU HAVE PICTURES OF YOUR SHELF? Because oh joy! I can imagine how gorgeous it would look omg. SERIES CAN'T BE PULLED APART. they are love and they remain together, in sickness and in health.

      Will it be weird if I told you that I've colour coordinated over a thousand of the loom rubber bands that I own? And smarties? and my book shelf? It's OCD, I tell you XDD

      Like

      • *throws confetti back* ๐Ÿ˜€ โค

        I don't, unfortunately (I *must* do that!), BUT. I would love to see photos of *yours*, as you mentioned above! ๐Ÿ˜€ AHH, YES – they *must* be kept together! I assume that in your colour coordinated shelves, the series stay together? ๐Ÿ˜€

        Oh my goodness, I have done that too (not with 1,000, though. :O ). *h5* AND SMARTIES. YES. I am not alone with my colour coordination madness. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

  4. First of all, UH, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! (BELATED!) Second of all, yes you must do the shelfie tag because it is a binding and legal contract. When you do go for archery, please take me along with you. And ugh, I completely understand about not being able to meet your favorite author! WHY OH WHY MUST THEY NOT COME TO OUR COUNTRIES. Haha, I’d like to own enough books to properly color coordinate someday ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • THANKS, MADDIE :’) I shall get to work on this binding and legal contract right away (ehh, excuses to take pictures of my pretties) I KNOW IT’S LIKE WE LIVE IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE WHEN IT COMES TO THAT, *sobs* You should really try it, it’s super worth it.

      Like

  5. Hope you had the happiest of birthdays!!!

    The trap with that thousand paper crane thing is you get so many paper cuts you have to wish for new hands. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    If they won’t come to you, you have to go to them.

    You need way more than 555 books. 555 books can fit in a pocket probably. You need to have something like Apocrypha in Skyrim.

    You should definitely try archery. You know a certain someone once hit two separate targets dead center with one arrow at the same time. Yes they are magic. Violins are cool too. Like a mix between a violin and a bow. And with your viobow you have your knife heel boots and leather jacket presumably with hidden pockets galore and a really long scarf.

    Good job colour co-ordinating! You should bake an apple pie for yourself as a reward. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    • Thankyouu ๐Ÿ˜›
      I think I should steer clear of the paper cranes then. I want my hands intact, thank you very much.

      YES THE LIMIT DOES NOT EXIST.

      Viobow. Oh god, I want one now. I think I saw a movie a while ago which did exactly that. IN ANY CASE? Music and weapons totally go together. Killing people in style since 1857.

      I shale go have a piece of pie right this minute.

      Like

  6. I would love to colour co-ordinate my shelves but I don’t want to break up my series… It’s hard to decide. Haha.
    All your other things sound cool. I wish I could do origami.

    Like

    • Anyone can do origami. Seriously, it’s just folding a few pieces of paper in a sequence in particular. Don’t let anything bring you down, it’s actually fun ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  7. Happy Very Late Birthday! ๐Ÿ˜€

    This is awesome! I love #8! So much! That would be so cool. Maybe like get together with a bunch of friends, divide into two teams, and make a treasure hunt for each other. Then race to see who gets to the end first! That’d be cool. ๐Ÿ™‚ Or for like a boyfriend and girlfriend to do it for each other. (I would totally read that book like that!)

    Like

  8. Happy belated birthday! These goals are great! I’ve tried knitting and all I’ve gotten out of it is an insanely long scarf so YES, I want to knit something good too! I SO BADLY want to start archery but my parents are like “No.” and I’m like “SHHH I’m trying to channel my inner Katniss!” even though I can just see myself accidentally shooting myself in the foot, I’d still like to try.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Happy belated birthday! I think these are lovely goals! I really want to do 13 & 14 myself ๐Ÿ™‚ I tried to do the color coordinated shelves, but I got angry and gave up. Actually, same with the book hahah. I LOVE the archery idea! And 555 books is a LOT! My goodness, imagine how much space they’d take up- totally worth it, obviously! Hope that you are able to achieve all of your goals!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: // reading, breathing, glasses thievery, artistic attempts // | Quenching the Quill

  11. Pingback: Catatonic || Beautiful People | Quenching the Quill

  12. HAPPY (very) BELATED BIRTHDAY! ๐Ÿ˜€ I always used to make lists of things to do before I was eighteen, but they’re either scattered around my room or gone. But you’ve given me inspiration to make a new list ๐Ÿ˜€ I am totally with you on #5. In fact, when I do get a cat (if I can convince my parents that animals aren’t filthy or smelly xD), I wanted to name it Sherlock โค Anyway, I hope you're enjoying being fourteen, and good luck on accomplishing everything on your list!

    Like

    • THANKYOU! *offers belated birthday cake* I honestly have so many lists rn – bucket lists, WIP lists, TBR lists, to-do lists….
      It’s overwhelming, but still fun ๐Ÿ˜„ MAKE THAT LIST. When you get your cat, (and I wholeheartedly approve of it’s name) it is your prior duty to spam me with cat pictures. :3

      Like

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! โ™ฅ

