Books and More / In which I link up

Books, shelfies, and other glorious things


11802128_1635616050009011_211106602_n

Y’all wanted to see my shelves after I mentioned them in my last post, so here it is! AND ALSO MADDIE HAD LOVELY TIMING WITH TAGGING ME FOR THE BOOKSHELF TAG. (I am forever indebted seeing as I was just about to subtly steal it from her. THANKYOU ❤ And to quote her wonderfully wise words; “This is an excellent excuse to take lots of pictures of my books.)

DESCRIBE YOUR SHELF AND WHERE YOU GOT IT FROM. 

The OCD part of me is sort of cringing at the different sizes, and the colours are way off….but I’m still very proud of it.

Lo and behold my bookshelf in all it’s colour co-ordinated glory! Admire the illustrious spines! The literary worlds it captures so perfectly!

The rational part of me thinks it’s not sane to upturn all your books out and then spend five hours re-arranging them.

11802128_1635616050009011_211106602_n

it took ages sorting these all out *cries*

The real me doesn’t really care because that’s what obsessive fangirls people do. *slinks away quietly into the shadows*

For where I got it from? The weeping souls of the forests whose trees were destroyed to put on display the book collection of a particularly scheming-mastermind of a girl.

BOOKIE 1

But I digress.

HOW DO YOU ORGANIZE YOUR BOOKS?

Thank god the Lemony Snicket books were

I don’t think this is a very helpful guide, but it is completely, utterly, absolutely necessary. Of course it is.

But for the rest of you, they’re colour coordinated. (Anyone else do this? :’O)

WHAT’S THE THICKEST/BIGGEST BOOK ON YOUR SHELF?

11756655_1635615900009026_1776018883_nT hat’s a 1056 pages, if you need to know. STILL NEED TO WORK ON FINISHING THIS.

 WHAT’S THE THINNEST BOOK ON YOUR SHELF?

20150713_142203

A small book of poems by Sylvia Plath. Less than fifty pages, and a bunch pictures filling those too.

5. IS THERE A BOOK YOU RECEIVED AS A BIRTHDAY GIFT?

20150713_144236

I got the Graveyard Book as a birthday present from a friend (a book! I never get books as birthday presents! Which is sad as I’m broke 110% of the time.) which was after the weirdest coincidence in which we both chose the exact same topic in the exam, and we both ended up writing about Coraline in that exact same topic. It was exceedingly weird and hilarious, but we weren’t complaining.

DSC00300

 

And that, is the story behind how I got a Neil Gaiman book as a present.

6. IS THERE A BOOK FROM A FRIEND ON YOUR SHELF?

I borrow books from my friends most of the time (read most, as all the time. What can I say? Those books are just getting more love ^-^) Right now, it’s sadly nada.

7. MOST EXPENSIVE BOOK ON YOUR SHELF?

DSC00270

I am inheritantly proud of my copy of Cress, which cost me an arm and a leg, and in the literal sense I couldn’t walk anywhere the next two days while I fawned over it and sobbed at how beautiful it was, while my dear mother diagnosed me with a disease which led me to calling this piece of literature my baby and refuse to part with it and carry it everywhere for the following week.

c822e826dc5a7a65bbc4f0d4363cf0d1

8. THE LAST BOOK YOU READ ON YOUR SHELF?

IMG_20150719_212932

 

The Book of General Ignorance. *commends author for his sarcasm and unfailing ability to make me feel uber smart*

 

9. DO YOU HAVE A COMPLETE SERIES?

20150205_134807

I feel the due need to put in the standard reply here, Harry Potter. Where would I be without these darlings in the first place. Also, all thirteen books of A Series of Unfortunate Events.

10. WHAT’S THE NEWEST ADDITION TO YOUR SHELF?

11798569_1635616540008962_649354448_n

11. THE OLDEST BOOK ON YOUR SHELF?

20150713_140934

 

I found this at an old book store, for what would be your equivalent of 50 cents, and as much as it seems like it was loved by it’s previous owner? I couldn’t get into it.

12. A BOOK YOU’D HATE TO LET OUT OF YOUR SIGHT (A.K.A NO ONE IS BORROWING IT. EVER.)

10965560_1574846499419300_279048537_n1

13. MOST BEAT UP BOOK?

11004706_1581453372091946_534793208_n

I got this the day it was released. It was the last copy at the bookstore. I devoured it in a day. I left it outside for five minutes to get myself a snack to go with it. It rained. I ran. It was too late.

I still haven’t forgiven myself.

15. MOST PRISTINE BOOK?

DSC00295

Let’s say that if the need will arise, I will protect this book with my life.

16. A BOOK THAT DOESN’T BELONG TO YOU?

11778150_1635615803342369_486838338_n

This book ruined me. It had that capability to reduce me to a tiny ball of scarfs and clothing in a corner, which seems to be a recurring quality in Gayle Forman’s books.

Oh, and did I mention how much I loved this?

17. A BOOK THAT IS YOUR FAVORITE COLOR?

11780655_1635644036672879_963007_n

Red. Like the blood of your enemies. And cream.

18. A BOOK THAT’S BEEN ON YOUR SHELF THE LONGEST AND YOU STILL HAVEN’T READ IT?

DSC00313

19. OF ALL THE BOOKS ON YOUR SHELF, WHICH WAS THE FIRST YOU READ?

11774335_1635644490006167_1762510321_n

I’ve had this for as long as I can remember. I also have vague memories of lugging it about like it was five pounds heavy and showing my grandmother how thick the spine was. That’s pretty much it.

The cover is sliiiightly disturbing.

Whew. That took eons to finish. NOW TELL ME; longest book on your shelf? The one that took you, like, forever to finish? And ooh, what’s the book that you’ll protect with your life?

34 thoughts on “Books, shelfies, and other glorious things

  1. Your response to Aristotle and Dante is basically the most accurate thing ever! I have this book I bought AGES ago, The Snowmelt River, and I still haven’t read it. :/ I really need to get back to that one XD I might steal this tag (it is a pretty thing) because I’m getting new bookshelves sometime and they’re huge and will have all the space for my lovely books! *huggles* Awesome post!

    Like

    • Ari and Dante is beautiful and sad and fabulous xD I know the feeling! I go on huuuge book hauls, and when I get home, only then do I suddenly realize that…I’m probably not going to read half of these. BUT I TRY.

      I will be most pleased if you steal this tag and do it because I am nosy and like to see other people’s shelves XD *huggles back*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your bookshelves are ridiculously pretty, oh my gosh! ❤ I've really been wanting to reorganise my own shelves. I'm pretty sure the longest book on my shelf was an omnibus of two Isobelle Carmody books _ can't remember exactly, but I think it was about the same as your Sherlock Holmes?
    I was in our school production of Arabian Nights (warden and unnamed bride with two lines at your service) so I sorta know that story, but IDK IF IT'S THE SAME AS IN YOUR BOOK. The cover is rather creepy…

    Like

    • Ohmygod, thankyou :’) Glad to see those five hours paid off. That cover looks so innocent, and then you look and glance at it again and it’s the stuff of nightmares. Huge books are great! If we ever need to murder someone with a hardback…at your service, madam. xD

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh your shelves are so pretty! My shelves are organised mostly on genre and I put series and books from the same author together (unless the author wrote different genres). The books behind my bed are all in pastel colours though.
    AND YOUR POOR COPY OF BLOOD OF OLYMPUS.

    Like

    • I used to do it author wise, but then decided to go overboard and do something that would COMPLETELY be time consuming to keep hat way. But pretty. *nods solemnly* Ooh, pastel colours!
      MY POOR, POOR PRECIOUSS.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oooh, another person with colour-coordinated shelves! It does look gorgeous, but how do you remember which book was what colour? And what do you do with rainbow-coloured books? I ADMIRE YOUR DEVOTION TO AESTHETIC.

    And yay, another Lemony Snicket lover! I feel like there are too few of us around.

    Like

    • Usually, I just try to remember what colour the cover was tbh. The rainbow books end up getting tossed in the middle of my haphazard rainbow shelf in an effort to make them fit. YES TY.

      Everyone should bow to the power of the Snicket.

      Like

  5. I must squeak. LOOK AT THAT BEAUTIFUL COLOUR COORDINATION. DJKAFLS. That *really* looks awesome. Will it stay like that for long? Like, are you good at keeping them in that order? :’D Thank you so much for doing this post, oh my goodness, I really enjoyed this! Sadly, I have never read *any* of the books you so cleverly photographed, but I have been reeeeeeally wanting to read The Book Thief. I put on hold at the library, once, but it never came . . .
    Anywho, this is really awesome – well done! :’) 😀

    Like

    • Ohmygosh you make me so happy :”D I’m pretty sure I’ll mess up the coordination the moment I draw out a book to read something because I’m *terrible* at this sort of stuff…but let’s see how long it lasts. xD

      Ooh, you MUST read The Book Thief. I assure you, you’ll love it. Thanks, koko <33

      Like

      • Aw, yeah? Lol, that’s what I’d do, but then I’d fix it after it had been like that for a few days. XD
        I actually just. put. it. on. hold. again. At the library. 😀 I am VERY excited to read it. XD I will let you know . . . I will probably do a review on it. 😀

        Like

  6. I adore these kinds of posts! Shelfies are so cool, and I just love this tag. Your book case is awesome, so many books!

    The largest book on my shelf is The Redemption of Althalus by David & Leigh Eddings; it’s 928 pages long! I’m not sure if there’s a book I prize over all others. I really don’t know. >.>

    Thank you for sharing photos of your bookcases with us!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Introducing My New And Improved Bookshelf-ness/The Bookshelf Tag! | Adventuring Through Pages

  8. You take such gorgeous book photography!
    Cress! I just finished that book. And basically had similar reactions as you did. I hope to post a not-a-review soon.
    *gasp* There’s a- There’s- A guitar in the background!

    Like

    • Thanks, Ashley ❤ OOH POST IT POST IT. I'd love to read it! Cress is Thorne and Iko and all things love *hugs book*

      Y-yes there's a guitar. Which I play. Sometimes. But mostly I use it to take pretty pictures of books.

      Jk jk lol XD

      Like

  9. My Alice in Wonderland editions. If the house is on fire, I don’t care about the other hundreds of books, but I have to save those, along with the hubby and dog of course. I love love LOVE bookish photography. I don’t know if it’s because I’m nosey, but I love seeing how others shelve their books. Mine are all by size, but I’d love to go by colour AND size. I wish someone would help me though 😦 there’s too much for one person. Thanks for sharing Nirvana, loved seeing your collection ❤

    Like

    • Let’s face it, of there was a fire I’d probably be lugging like a hundred books out that door trying to desperately hug all of them. My odds don’t look that good…hehe?

      YESS. IT’S LIKE PRETTY BOOKS DEMAND TO BE PHOTOGRAPHED. I tried doing mine by colour AND size, but I sort of failed halfway. So I stuck to just colour. I had a my sister help me, so that made things a lot easier :))

      Like

  10. Oh, your pictures are gorgeous!! I have loved looking at your pretty books- I LOVE that edition of The Book Thief! I have tried to do color coordinating shelves, but in vain. I simply don’t have the eye for it, or so it seems!

    The longest book I had was City of Heavenly Fire, but I traded that bad boy away 😉 Now, I think the longest one I have is maybe Afterworlds? I don’t know, I have not read it! Oops!

    As for the book I’ll protect with my life… well, when my Hunger Games Luxury Editions arrive, it will be those!! 😀

    Like

    • Ach I’m so glad that they worked out fine. It took ages taking all of them XD COHF IS HUUUGE. Seriously, it’s the book I would use to whack a zombie on the head during an apocalypse. (Unless there’s a hardcover around, of course)

      The Hunger Games Luxy edition s are freaking gorgeous. Alsooo, you’ll have yet ANOTHER copy of THG 😉 Not that I’m complaining XD

      Like

  11. Your shelves look amazing! Especially because you sometimes break your own rules. It looks just awesome! If I was as organized as you I’d ve so happy!

    Like

  12. I’m always jealous of color-coded shelves because they always look SO PRETTY. I wish I could do that, but (a) I’m just too lazy to sort through my books, and (b) I can never separate my books from their respective series. I NEED to keep them together. And hey, if it helps any, I didn’t find your bookshelf that messy. The colors all look so gorgeous together that I guess it kind of distracted me from any messiness. 😉

    Omg, I think I have that exact same edition of Sherlock Holmes, but I didn’t realize it had so many pages, because it didn’t look that thick on the outside… DECEPTIVE DETECTIVE BOOK. And same, I don’t receive books for my birthday either. Or Christmas. I think people are afraid of getting me books because they know I only read YA (most of the time) so they don’t know what exactly to get me. My friends don’t read YA books at all. D: So I get money instead, which is also pretty good in itself. $$$

    Guuuurrrlll, you have a Deathly Hallows bracelet! *flails and fangirls* It’s sad that even though I’m a huge HP fan I don’t own any merchandise or any kind of HP-related jewelry. I’ll have to change that someday… when I’m richer. LOL.

    Loved this post! ❤

    Like

    • Yes I know the feeling. I think I tore apart some part of my soul after I had to separate my beauties. The only two which I couldn’t separate was HP and the Snicket books. THE SERIES ARE FAMILY AND FAMILY STICKS TOGETHER. Ooh, really? I feel a lot better about this now tbh xD

      High five for the same edition! I was the exact same and then I started and dayum was it long. The font was tiny o.o Oh, that’s terrible. Everyone needs some YA in their life. I don’t have any life besides YA. 😉
      GET SOME MERCH. You’ll have no regrets later on while you drool over the piece of art that is your fandom merch later on. Someday, ah well. Until then, we’re broke and bookish.

      Thanks, Megan ❤

      Like

    • TID is bae. TID is life. Look on the bright side, when you finally get a shelf you’ll have a ton of books to unpack and shelf. (And obviously drool over the cover because <333)

      Like

  13. Pingback: Bookshelving | Twist in the Taile

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! ♥

