Story Treasury

Authors Whom I End Up Majorly Stalking (and their majorly awesome books)


Top Ten Tuesday

I’m linking up with the Broke and the Bookish for this weekly feature 🙂

Excuse the gargantuan title; though I suppose I’ve had longer.

Up for today, we have authors I have majorly stalked and their books. Cashiers will speak of me prowling their bookstores, eyes peeled for their book so I can hoard the precious onto my already (way too big) collection.

The thing with me, is that once it comes to a certain person I only need a little bit to get me hooked.

And then suddenly I wonder where said book/series was my entire life anD YES I NEED MORE BY THE AUTHOR.

So I’ll read another book by them.

And another.

…And yet another. I am a predictable human bean.

This is a list implying all my fails when it comes to self restraint. With books, obviously.

*sniffles* You are a beautiful cinnamon roll, too good for this world, too pure.

So here is my (slightly late) Top Ten Tuesday.

1. Enid Blyton (43)

The Mystery Series – 15 || Twins at St Clare’s – 10 || Malory Towers – 6 || Enchanted Woods – 3 || Famous Five – 5 || Assorted random tales which caught my fancy – 4

333

Frankly, it’s embarrassing that she came out top, but hey. Seven year old me had priorities, and one day reading every Enid Blyton book as of ever was one of them. Go 7 year old me!

2. Rick Riordan (15)

The Kane Chronicles -3 || The Greek Gods || The Last Olynpian -5 || Heroes of Olympus -5 || Demigod Diaries ||

111

Yes, I’ve given in to the hype. And gone ahead and stalked most of the books he’s written. But Rick Riordan’s great – at being hilarious enough to make someone who reads every book with a poker face laugh. Cute ships. And great concepts.

Also, I must thank him for making me top every mythology class from now :]

3. Lemony Snicket (14)

A Series of Unfortunate Events – 13 || Lemony Snicket: The Unauthorized Autobiography ||

222

My life is a mess and I still don’t know if the Baudelaire parents are alive. And, um, VFD. Unless my emotional blackout can be counted as a Very Funny Death.

I LIKE SNICKET.

Everyone should bow to the power of the Snicket. He’s an excellent writer. Enough to, as I may have pointed out before, make me read fourteen of his books even after he tried to get me to stop at the first. Reverse psychology at its peak, folks.

4. Roald Dahl (13)

James and the Giant Peach || Charlie and the Chocolate Factory || The Magic Finger || Fantastic Mr Fox || Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator || Danny, the Champion of the World || The Enormous Crocodile || The Twits ||Esio Trot || Going Solo || The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me || Boy: Tales of Childhood || The Witches

666

Because Roald Dahl, peoples. My childhood.

And yes, that IS a lot of Dahl. *wipes away tears*

 5. Cassandra Clare (11)

The Mortal Instruments – 6 || The Infernal Devices – 3 || The Bane Chronicles – 1 || The Iron Trials ||

10955907_1574846562752627_990196352_n

It makes me an extremely proud bookworm to know that I have read every Cassie Clare book there is, with the exception of one left.

I shall fix that. SOON.

Honestly though, if you’re going to read her books? Go for the Infernal Devices. It is steampunk angel/demon-hunting excellency with great girl power, which makes me very happy. You won’t regret it. Even though Magnus Bane just happens to make everthing better.

Because, y’know, Magnus Bane.

6. Micheal Buckey (9)

|| The Sisters Grimm – 9 ||

I can’t say this enough; if you want dark retellings which are not YA and not Middle Grade either, you have the blend of perfection which is the Sisters Grimm. You will read it, and you will fall in love with it.

It pains my fangirl heart that I own no copies of The Sisters Grimm.

7. J.K Rowling (9)

Harry Potter – 7 || Tales of Beedle The Bard || Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them ||

20150205_134807

eek, sorry for repeating pictures, but I am very fond of my Deathly Hallows bracelet xD

I’m still not over the fact that we only have seven books. Most of us are.

I would read this woman’s grocery lists. I would watch a movie about watching paint dry at Hogwarts.

This is what so long without a Hogwarts book has done to me.

8. Eoin Colfer (8)

|| Artemis Fowl – 7 || The Artemis Fowl Files ||

999

Because everyone needs a little Artemis Fowl. I have a thing for fourteen year olds who are mastermind criminals and aspire to take over the world.

It strikes me as familiar to someone I know.

Beats me. I’m, uh, innocent.

9. Cornelia Funke (5)

Inkheart || Inkspell || Inkdeath|| The Thief Lord || Dragon Rider

777

Cornelia Funke’s writing is gorgeous. I had the Inkworld haunt me for almost a week after I had finished the series and that’s saying something considering I have a memory span of a goldfish.

10. Christopher Paolini (4)

|| The Inheritance Cycle – 4 ||

444

 In this sense, I feel like Christopher Paolini is wayy too under-rated. Personally I loved his books. Because long descriptions ignored the plot is intricate and the characters are deep and DRAGONS. Dragons make everything better.

I might be being slightly biased on the dragons argument there.

Tell mee, which author’s books have you stalked the most?

 

24 thoughts on “Authors Whom I End Up Majorly Stalking (and their majorly awesome books)

  1. Lemony Snicket is SO FAB. I’ve actually read 15 books of his — those thirteen, The Beatrice Letters, and A Lump of Coal. I have read the exact same JKR books as you XD I read Inkheart and liked it, but I DNFed Inkdeath because the plot just went weird? Maybe it was just younger me messing up. XD

    Like

    • Lemony Snicket would probably win a Nobel prize for being fabulous if we’re being completely honest here XD

      I liked the first two books a lot, but I feel you omg. Things just a got maybe a little too much? I don’t know.

      Like

  2. I LOVE MAGNUS BANE. ❤ I know she wrote short stories about him (which are wonderful) buuut I could totally read a 6-book-series just about Magnus tbh. He is adorable and glittery and so so funny. :') I just finished the Clockwork books!! I think I like TMI better, but THEY'RE ALL SO GOOD. *hugs all her books*
    ALSO LEMONY SNICKET. He is a genius and master of reverse psychology. ALSO. Did you know he's writing a new series? The 4th book comes out this year (final one I think) AND NOW I KNOW WHAT VFD STANDS FOR *dances*

    Like

    • Ohmygosh yes I need a whole Magnus Bane series now x) I feel like everyone needs to remember the fact that he once fell in love with a plate *wipes away tear* Good times, good times.

      WAIT WHAT WAIT. A Lemony Snicket series? I must stalk and devour this asap XD I AM ENVIOUS OF YOUR SUPERIOR KNOWLEDGE ABOUT THIS ORGANIZATION *sobs*

      Like

  3. oh I’ve read so many. I used to read so much Enid Blyton and that was all I could read. J. k rowling, Christopher Paolini (and he said he would return to alagasia! When? Oh and Eoin colfer is the best. You should read Airman, it’s super cool and historical and more YA. I’m with you on this, Nirvana!

    Like

  4. No but Hogwarts is painted magically, so that’s AWESOME. If other fandoms read things like this they’ll surely think we need help 😂 Though honestly I always feel like everyone is in the fandom haha (I’m always so shocked to find out when someone hasn’t read Harry which is ridiculous, OF COURSE not everyone has read it)

    Like

  5. YES TO ALL OF THESE. ❤ I absolutely adore everything Rick Riordan has written and am so glad to see you are such a huge fan of his as well. And JK Rowling as well – I think Hogwarts – with its unforgettable worldbuilding and characters – is probably what lead so many people to become avid readers in the first place. Roald Dahl too – can't forget his amazing stories! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love that you said Cassie Clare! Her TID is my life. Will Herondale all the way! Also, the guy playing Alec (Matthew Daddrio) is my crush. Too hot for my life! I’m so excited for the show ❤ Love you blog, btw!

    Like

  7. Hm, I think I will have to try this Sisters Grimm which you speak of. It sounds quite fascinating.
    All hail Riordan! I just started the Percy Jackson series and I am loving all of it!

    Like

  8. Mine would have to be Riordan as well. I have multiple series copies of Percy Jackson and both other series now too, although I’m yet to read those. I’d even go as far as to say that I think Riordan is almost as popular as Rowling. The only difference is that with Rowling, we really only have one series to compare. I loved Enid as a child, and only recently started purchasing a few titles for when I have children.

    Like

  9. Roald Dahl, Lemony Snickett and JKR forever! They were definitely a huge part of my childhood, I am going to force their books on my future children haha.

    Like

  10. I love the Inkheart trilogy! I read the book ages ago, but I can remember being blown away by the world building. And Dustfinger and …. well that guy who jumped out from Ali Baba were so adorable!
    And Eragon! It’s still one of the best high fantasy I’ve ever read! Period!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to know what you think. Comments make my day!! ♥

